1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM]-[5/9/2010] Evil Eris v2.0.1 (HTC Sense UI-Android 2.1)[Overclock and Apps2SD!]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Framework43, May 16, 2010.

  1. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,212
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    to get 2.0.1 you need to have 2.0 installed and running.

    boot into recovery

    DO NOT WIPE

    just flash zip from sd and pick the 2.0.1 package.

    should be ok then, if it aborts download the file again.

    and i would think yes, you need the lwp patch to run lwp's


    *fyi this has been updated to 3.0 on the xda dev forum*
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rav20

    Rav20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    73
    2
    16
  3. jaykap

    jaykap Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    69
    0
    35
    Warehouse Manager
    Selden, NY
    Thanks for the info. I will download it when u get home. All I have to do is put it on my card and then boot into recovery and flash the .zip file with no wipe, right?
     
  4. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
  5. Rav20

    Rav20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    73
    2
    16

    No EE3.0 is a complete wipe and reinstall... no matter which one you where on before.

    i would do a nad back up before going to EE3.0 in case you have any problems

    sorry man.
     
  6. BlazeD OnE

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    234
    12
    38
    Evil Eris 3.0 soft keys lighting up FTW!!! sweeeet
     
  7. ilaunchpad

    ilaunchpad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,
    I recently got Eris 2.1 update and it is full of bugs. It keeps freezing on me and gets slow. I have heard if you root your phone you can store your apps to SD card which frees the internal memory and phone becomes faster. Since I already have 2.1 is it possible for me to root the phone ?
     
  8. BlazeD OnE

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    234
    12
    38
    2.1 OTA, or 2.1 leak... 2.1 OTA, follow the same directions as if you were on 1.5..
     
  9. danacorbin

    danacorbin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Accounting
    Pittsburgh
    hi, installed 2.0.1 last night. trying to figure out how to apply changes to the lock screen. feature seems to be missing. anyone find it yet? thanks!!!!

    figures. found it soon as i posted. doh. system setting. sorry was up til 4 am.
     
  10. danacorbin

    danacorbin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Accounting
    Pittsburgh
    Okay, an actual question: For those running evil eris 3.0, what are the added features? how do you like it. don't want to spend hours customizing the look and feel of my phone only to wipe it all because I should be running 3.0. thx!
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,475
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Fwiw, yesterday I ran Evil Eris 3.0 for most of the day, but got curious reading about Senseable 3.1 and now have that on my phone.

    EE3 was very nice; I was startled by the speed as compared to the "official" ROM linked in the rooting instruction page (more on the speed thing in a minute).

    I have learned since then that I made a mistake which may have had an inadvertent positive influence on my (first) Senseable flash: I misread the instructions at the XDA site posted by the developer of Senseable, thinking that his advice to not wipe if you are flashing from 2.0 or above meant 2.0 of any ROM, I did the flash without a wipe.

    Well, it ran beautifully.. quite fast and only one little anomaly that I thought was normal: any time I needed to use SU permissions it took a couple of minutes to invoke the the "allow" choice. I've learned since then that is not right being as how it is only about two seconds since I re-flashed the same ROM and did the wipe this time hoping to head off any ticking time bombs from not wiping the first time I flashed it.

    As a comparison between Senseable 3.1 and EE3, Senseable has a transparent dock bar at the bottom, very nicely sculpted round at the corners, and other eye candy that I prefer.. as far as operation goes I get the feeling they are about the same mainly because I've had both at 710/528 using SetCPU.
     
    danacorbin likes this.
  12. danacorbin

    danacorbin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Accounting
    Pittsburgh


    i flashed right to 2.0.1 because i didn't know you had to be running 2.0 first. seems to run fine. does this mean that i only have the features from the "update" now and not the whole package of features had i done it correctly? :(
     
  13. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
    Hey Frisco,

    welcome to the root side!
     
    Frisco likes this.
  14. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    I would have thought that you can go ahead with 2.0.1 if coming from another rom.
    IN fact, i think I've done that.
    Does everything seems to be working still? anything missing?

    I'm curious to hear what others say on the subject.
     

Share This Page

Loading...