1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][ICS] Paranoid Android Ver1.6 Beta from source (31JUL2013)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BSydz, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. bidzer

    bidzer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    54
    8
    16
    Overall the ROM is running smooth. Loaded up nova launcher. The only thing I'm noticing is very, very slow data speeds. I'm averaging about 10kb throughout. I guess this could be the VM network but at this time of night I usually get much better speeds. Thanks a bunch for this. Really like tablet UI.
     

    Advertisement

    BSydz likes this.
  2. andr2d2

    andr2d2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012

    Jul 8, 2012
    124
    28
    43
    Good job.... Keep the updates coming:D:D:D
     
    BSydz likes this.
  3. rdoac

    rdoac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012

    Oct 12, 2012
    128
    26
    43
    Rockford, IL
    Been running this a few hours now. It seems about as robust as cm9. I like the extra screen realestate. At first I had lots of "unfortunately, paranoid android ota has stopped" but it seems to have settled down now. (Edit - just reread the top and it's expected)

    Is there an app to save Trebuchet settings and icon placement?
     
    BSydz likes this.
  4. rebel69ization

    rebel69ization Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    193
    27
    43
    Bsydz, everything is working,(as far as data, wifi, camera(panoramic), flash, very good job. I think I will run this for a few days. Note: if anyone wants flash player install pre ics flash( mikeRL) player. It will not install from the market.
     
    BSydz likes this.
  5. bidzer

    bidzer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    54
    8
    16
    Day 2 and haven't run into any problems. 3G speed has improved since last night. If there's anything you want me to specifically test just let me know. I don't load a ton of apps on my phone but a fair amount. BTW, battery drain from what I can tell has been very minimal!!! This will be my daily for quite a while :)
     
    BSydz likes this.
  6. rileyper

    rileyper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    26
    3
    36
    I love this build. I am looking forward to more progress on the camera.:D
     
    BSydz likes this.
  7. jjohn7293

    jjohn7293 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    559
    109
    93
    Ditto!

    Remember the nay sayers? It may not be fully working yet, but it is doing more than ever! And actually capturing if you use panorama!

    Eat that nay sayers!!!
     
    BSydz likes this.
  8. Tjohnson042110

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    Has anyone else had trouble with Gmail force closing?
     
  9. RolaAddict

    RolaAddict Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    507
    106
    93
    Male
    Electronics sales and repairs
    Virginia
    Finally this ROM has been reborn
     
    BSydz likes this.
  10. BSydz

    BSydz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    951
    944
    163
    The Mitten
    If you change layouts and things start force closing go in to System Settings>Paranoid Settings>List of apps and find the app then change the Default DPI to Phone and hit apply.

    Just updated the OP.
     
  11. rebel69ization

    rebel69ization Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    193
    27
    43
    Yes I just found this out because my beautiful widgets weather was not displaying correctly. I changed the app dpi and it displays correctly.
     
  12. rdoac

    rdoac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012

    Oct 12, 2012
    128
    26
    43
    Rockford, IL
    Any news on the headphones? How quick/easy would it be to throw in the headphone patch on the cm9 thread back into this? I use Google Play Music at work through headphones daily which is stopping me from using this ROM over CM9? Is it something that can be done by a layman?
     
  13. BSydz

    BSydz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    951
    944
    163
    The Mitten
    I'll have a new build probably tonight, should fix the headset issue and a few other things. Kinda wanted to see if any other bugs showed up, before I posted a new build.
     
    rdoac likes this.
  14. bunanson

    bunanson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    108
    14
    38
    Yes. Menu>Settings>Accounts&Sync>enable google acct sync

    That does it for me

    bun
     
    BSydz likes this.
  15. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    Bsydz you have done it again . Great job man. Everything seems to work fine. Except the soft keys don't light up.
     
    BSydz likes this.
  16. TheDarkside13

    TheDarkside13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012

    May 30, 2012
    78
    6
    16
    Male
    CNC machine operator
    Pennsylvania
    Very interested to try this...not sure how I would feel having a tablet UI on my phone, but hey worth a shot. Will try this weekend. Good work! Bright future for the Triumph!
     
    BSydz likes this.
  17. zajrik

    zajrik Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    60
    10
    18
    Been using this rom for the last few days and definitely liking it. My battery life is brilliant compared to G60's CM9, though maybe I was just in need of a fresh install. Anyway, in addition to the lack of wired headset functionality, this is the only other thing I can find that's a problem/bothering me:

    Photo Album - Imgur

    In all three of those screenshots, you can see just above my status bar that there's a gap in what's meant to be a full screen darkening effect. This comes into play generally when there's some sort of pop up or a loading spinny-circle thing. I'm assuming this is a framework thing, but I'm not certain. I'm hoping this is something you could look into and fix maybe when you're done with fixing the wired headset. that gap in that dark overlay driving me nuts.


    I'm likely going to have to switch back to CM9 with work shifts starting back up here soon. Gonna need to be able to listen to music on my way to work to justify that 10 dollars I spent on spotify premium, lol.
     
    bob-st and BSydz like this.
  18. SemeteryRocker

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    If I may, how did you get the 3 buttons on the bottom left?
     
  19. zajrik

    zajrik Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    60
    10
    18

    In settings, go to system and check under navigation bar. I'm using it because of how unreliable the hardware control buttons tend to be.
     
    SemeteryRocker likes this.
  20. SemeteryRocker

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Thanks, very much appreciated. That's why I wanted them too.
     
  21. Cyta

    Cyta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012

    Feb 10, 2012
    108
    40
    43
    BSydz, dev beast!

    New ROM time.....cant wait to install and check it out.

    Thanks man....
     
    BSydz likes this.
  22. BSydz

    BSydz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    951
    944
    163
    The Mitten
    Thanks for the feedback, I am looking in to this.
    Thanks for the feedback, headphones are fixed. I have searched high and low to find a solution to the background issue, it is only when the status bar is at the bottom. In case anybody is wondering it can be switched in paranoid settings. I can't find where to change the layout for the life of me, I have spent the last two days searching everywhere, and still nothing. I am gonna have to look into some theming threads for ICS, but most of them are for prebuilt ROMs. I have been pretty busy lately, and trying to work on like five different ROMs, so any leads would be appreciated. It has to be a system wide setting cause it does it in portrait and landscape.
     
    zajrik and bunanson like this.
  23. bunanson

    bunanson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    108
    14
    38
    thank you for another update, thank you for your work. I am already thrilled with the initial built - Jan6. If I set everything to phone, system UI, statusbar ... , it is ROCK stable. I still get the paranoidandroid OTA.... is that for upgrade, it should have nothing to do with your built, right?

    Thank you again for your hard work, amaigo.

    This is my current setup, I have yet to see even 1 FC.

    Paranoid Settings: put everything to phone, reboot. Stable, but icons are too big.
    paranoid Settings: Statusbus style Tablet UI
    User default UI: Pone UI
    System default DPI: Stock DPI (Phone)
    User default DPI: Stock DPI (Phone)
    Framework-res DPI: leave it blank
    System UI DPI: Default DPI

    Wifi tether works
    Google Maps/Navigator/Steet View, locked instantly
    Skype/Groove IP worked
    SSHDroid works
    Zipit works


    bun
     

    Attached Files:

    BSydz likes this.
  24. BSydz

    BSydz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    951
    944
    163
    The Mitten
    OK, so after doing a bunch of research there are tons of phones with this issue. If you go into settings>display>brightness, and check auto brightness, they work. If you just move the slider a bit they turn on, if you do that, then let the phone go to sleep with the brightness menu still open, the buttons will stay lit, but if you push the power button to sleep they turn off. I have some ideas, I'll look into it further.
    Thank you. I took out the OTA app, I think it has been dicontinued as PA uses GOO manager now, the only issue that that causes is when you go to about phone and check for update the settings fc, but we have never been able to actually use that option, so ...

    I need some people to test out dpi settings, so I can customize this a bit more, tablet mode seems to be a bit small and there seem to be some missing options. There should be 3 dpi settings phone (240), mid (160) and tablet (128), I can tweak these and also set defaults. I think 160 is awesome, 128 is hard to see even with the font set to huge, but I love the layout.

    Any way let me know what you guys think.
     
  25. bunanson

    bunanson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    108
    14
    38
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...