• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooted, removed some bloatware, now what?

justind91

Mar 2, 2015
I just rooted my bionic. First time I've had root so I'm a complete noob. What should be next on my list to do? If possible I would like to get better battery life with better performance. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Right now I feel like a lumberjack who just got an awesome new saw but can't figure out how to get it started.

Well, if you don't want to flash roms yet (not exactly familiar with your device) you can install the Xposed framework.
(if on 4.0.3 or later) After installing the framework, you can browse the modules that allow you to tweak your current rom with all sorts of different things :D
Introduction to Xposed.

As far as battery life and performance, there may be some modules that work great with your device and I'll have to wait until someone chimes in about that. Perhaps there is a kernel that you can install and tweak?

Again, I'm not that familiar with your device, but did you install a custom recovery?

Upvote 0
Well, if you don't want to flash roms yet (not exactly familiar with your device) you can install the Xposed framework.
(if on 4.0.3 or later) After installing the framework, you can browse the modules that allow you to tweak your current rom with all sorts of different things :D
Introduction to Xposed.

As far as battery life and performance, there may be some modules that work great with your device and I'll have to wait until someone chimes in about that. Perhaps there is a kernel that you can install and tweak?

Again, I'm not that familiar with your device, but did you install a custom recovery?

I'm familiar with the device. I haven't installed anything except a root checker, titanium backup, and ROM manager. I used titanium to remove bloatware. I'm seeing performance improvements just from doing that.

Upvote 0
Oh, that's cool then!