1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SD card keeps randomly "disappearing"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chapp1e, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. Chapp1e

    Chapp1e Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    350
    16
    58
    Philadelphia
    So, I've noticed recently that I will randomly get an error while doing different things that involve using or downloading an app/wallpaper/etc. saying "SD Card unexpectedly removed" or something similar. When I go to try download something it will say "SD Card Required for this application"

    I have at no point touched the the sd card, let alone the back door. If I pop the door off and take the card out and put it back in, this fixes the problem, but I really don't like doing this randomly from time to time, lol.

    Is this an SD card issue or a phone issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. onelownismo

    onelownismo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    This happened to me a lot of the first day or two, I kept doing as you did, and pulling the sd card, then replacing it. It's been a week now and hasn't happened since. Sorry if this doesn't help, just sharing my experience.
     
  3. Chapp1e

    Chapp1e Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    350
    16
    58
    Philadelphia
    Yeah, I did it last noght and since then, no issues. See if this continues to hold up or not.
     
  4. Chapp1e

    Chapp1e Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    350
    16
    58
    Philadelphia
    Happened again today... ugh. Don't know if it's the SD card or the phone, but quite annoying.

    If I continue to have issues, since I bought it at radioshack, will I be able to take it back to them?
     
  5. Zonker1

    Zonker1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    114
    15
    38
    You should not have any problems taking it back to radioshack. I bout a captivate from them last year. They replaced it 3 times for different issues within the first 30 days. Never gave me a problem.
     
  6. gtalum

    gtalum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    104
    10
    38
    Bradenton, FL
    Take it back and exchange it. I have not had this problem a single time.
     
  7. dragoneye850

    dragoneye850 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am having this problem on my HTC Inspire 4G. Very annoying. It doesn't do it everyday, and is not consistent with any particular action. I see it the most when I do the HTC Sync. It tells me the SD is not mounted. Of course I have never touched it. It almost always requires me to pull the card and put it back in, and on occasion required a reboot to get to my music and some apps to work. Let me know if you find an answer to this.
     
  8. McSurly

    McSurly Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1
    0
    5
  9. karman

    karman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    26
    2
    36
    Just happened to me. 1st time with a 2 week old phone. I had just installed Contact Analyzer, no idea if that caused it.
    I tried a power off/on, but still no SD card. Uninstalled Contact Analyzer also. Then I did a restart and the SD card shows up after the restart. Weird.
     
  10. kimtyson

    kimtyson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    IT Security Professional
    York, Pa, USA
    Was happening to me so I just switched to a different SD card. So far so good.
     
  11. Camaros_Kill

    Camaros_Kill Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    This has happened with my GF's Inspire a few times. I noticed it seems to happen mainly when im rebooting the phone more than normal(installing/setting up a rom, etc). I always have to turn the phone off and remove/reinsert the card to get the system to see it again.

    I have also had 3 different moto droids and one of them had an issue where it sometimes wouldnt mount the sd card in recovery because it couldnt see it. I would have to wiggle the card around or pull/insert and try again. if it happened while i was trying to install a rom, it would abort the install with "status 31." Sometimes id have to try for half an hour literally to get the card to mount correctly once. when i booted into android on it though, the sd card was never once an issue.

    Not sure what these two things mean as far as whether its hardware or software problems. The inspire didnt start acting up until i started getting into rooting it and rebooting a bunch. and i probably never wuda known about the moto droid sd problem if i hadnt needed to be in recovery. Are there users with these types problems who arent rooted?
     
  12. kimtyson

    kimtyson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    IT Security Professional
    York, Pa, USA
    The other card I switched to is still good.
     
  13. aemeed

    aemeed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    is this just a software not recognizing the card or just sd card being faulty? I just switched from iPhone to the Inspire and i've loved it so far.. however about once or twice a day i'll get this error and it's a hassle to remove my case then remove the card and reinsert. was wondering if i should just try a new SD card... thanks!
     
  14. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    I would suggest trying a new SD card. I had this happen a couple times until I replaced the card and havent had it happen since.
     
  15. kd102007

    kd102007 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have own my Inspire since the first day it came out in feb. Two days ago I kept getting a force close message on a few of my apps, so I restart my phone. And it does the error message of my sd card isnt there. I took my SD card out and put it in my converter on to my laptop. All my photos and videos were erased, and now its saying to insert my SD card. But i havent removed it, since i put it in the converter and put It back into my phone.. I took it out and put it back. Still no change. I'm getting it checked out tomorrow. Any ideas??
     

Share This Page

Loading...