• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Serious Battery Issues Post-Root

Touk

Lurker
Apr 3, 2010
I'm new to rooting, this Incredible is my first device I've rooted. Still, I didn't just spontaneously root, I tried to read up on everything beforehand and give myself a few weeks to weigh my options. Anyway, I've got a custom ROM running for a few days now, but ever since I rooted, by battery life took a drastic turn for the worse. I'm losing about 15-20% battery per hour, regardless of whether the screen is on or not. Meanwhile, my phone is taking about 6 hours or so to charge to full. Before rooting my battery lasted for practically the entire day, and charging was completely normal. I'm really not sure what I did to cause this, so I'm wondering if anyone here has any insight.

To be clear, I had an Incredible with OTA 2.2 before all this. In the process, I:
  • Rooted using unrEVOked 3
  • Then upgraded to unrEVOked forever, after learning I needed s-off
  • Installed Clockwork Recovery (part of unrEVOked)
  • Flashed new radio
  • Flashed Cyanogen 6.0.2 using ROM Manager

Immediately after this I noticed my battery was draining faster than normal. Everything is running smoothly, I have no issues with actual performance. Early this morning I tried to see if it was something with Cyanogen, so I wiped that and installed ShadowROM instead. Again, performance is perfect, but my battery life is horrendous. Looking though my battery usage statistics, nothing really stands out as being a problematic program. I did notice in battery history, though, that under 'other usage', 'Running' is reportedly 100% (additionally, 'Screen on' is only at 16.4%). Again, I'm not an expert on this, but it seems to me that something isn't letting my phone actually sleep.