1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Serious Milestone isssue: it can't play music properly

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Afront, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Afront

    Afront Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    77
    32
    23
    Edinburgh, UK
    The Motorola Milestone has had a serious issue since its release, namely it cannot play music properly without skips and jumps in the playback. There has been a thread about this defect on Motorola's official support forum since December last year:

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/20694

    This thread has now had almost 5,000 views and 70 replies but still no word of a fix or even acknowledgment of the problem from Motorola.

    Now that the Milestone is being sold in Canada, perhaps Motorola might finally do something about this problem. I hope so: the Milestone is a fantastic device besides this issue, and I am reluctant to return my Milestone. But I'm a huge music fan and not being able to listen to music on my Milestone is becoming a deal-breaker.

    Hopefully with an increased number of owners wanting to use their Milestone's as music players this fundamental issue might be addressed soon.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thilan29

    thilan29 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    Wasn't this fixed with the 2.0.1 update?
     
  3. Afront

    Afront Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    77
    32
    23
    Edinburgh, UK
    Unfortunately not.

    But at least now Motorola seem to have finally acknowledged that there's an issue with audio playback on the Milestone, although they're not suggesting that it will be fixed.
     
  4. Afront

    Afront Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    77
    32
    23
    Edinburgh, UK
  5. gezpage

    gezpage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Gutted about this. One think I might point out though is that if I am connected to a wifi network instead of 3g etc. I don't have the problem.

    I'm getting used to hitting the power button and switching flight mode on / off regularly. Painful!
     
  6. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    403
    16
    38
    Tim Hortin's part time
    Richmond Hill, ON
    I haven't had a problem using it as my music player O_O. Maybe i just haven't noticed
     
  7. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
    i have a uk milestone in scotland and have this skipping problem too. can't say for sure if it's related to cell roaming but it is noticable and occurs at random.
    if you use a third party music player the issue dissappears but i would like to keep the simplicity of the default player.
     
  8. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    If anything, it seems to have become worse with 2.0.1 for me!
     
  9. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
    big time man.
     
  10. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
    i've installed the music player apk that's been ripped from the N1 and the problem still exists.
    could jsut be crappy codecs getting used by the android players...
     
  11. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    I don't think it's the codecs - the way it stutters when the network changes (and the fact you can eliminate this by using flight mode) suggest it's something to do with multi-threading / interrupts / task priority. There is some kind of conflict between the GSM phone process and the music player.
     
  12. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
    either way, bloody unacceptable.
     
  13. fatkimi

    fatkimi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    just uninstall some player software mean like 3rd party music or video player..

    last time i oso have same problem... after uninstall all come normal
     
  14. celios

    celios Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    159
    2
    36
    UK (Scotland)
    I don't have any 3rd party player software installed...
     
  15. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
    yeah, we are talking about the out of the box 2.0 and 2.0.1 native players.

    neither one plays without stuttering.
     

Share This Page

Loading...