1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General **SOLVED** ad hoc wifi tethering problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nypdauxx, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    Has anyone figured out a way to get the nexus 7 to connect to ad hoc hotspot. It connects to normal WiFi but when it comes to WiFi tethering from my phone it will not even detect the connection in the list. Any ideas???
     

    Advertisement

  2. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    It works flawlessly with my LG Connect. I suspect that it is more an issue with your phone than the Nexus. You might try re-posting in your phone's board. Some hotspot apps work better with certain phones.
     
  3. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    I am using lg esteem 4g also from metro like your connect I've use wireless tether app and open garden
     
  4. DC IT

    DC IT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    84
    9
    36
    Male
    Onsite computer service.
    Toronto, Canada
    I don't have a problem with my Galaxy Note LTE once I activate the hotspot.
    Both my N7 and BB Playbook can detect and connect to it automatically once it's set up.
     
  5. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    So what do you guys think the issue is?
     
  6. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    What app are you using to tether? I use the built in wifi hotspot with my GNex and it works just fine.
     
  7. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    Ive used WiFi tether 3.1 beta 14 and open garden pretty much no wifi tether app works with nexus 7. My phone is rooted lg esteem 4g, but other devices see my phone like Xbox 360 etc, but not the nexus 7.
     
  8. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    That is what I mainly use because it seems the most reliable on my Connect, but the stock wifi tether also works.
     
  9. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    I use an LG Marquee to tether my N7 with the built-in tethering app, though to make that work, I have to access the LG hidden menu and set extend modem to no...
     
  10. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    My lg esteem does not have hotspot option or if it does its disabled, I've used any cut before to access network settings, I've seen lg hidden menu before, could you explain how to get hotspot and how to use lg hidden menu please.
     
  11. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    I am not sure how to solve this pretty much sucks no more Gameloft games on the go cause they require stupid license check on every startup, I need to find out the issue here also if there is a USB wired tether to tether my phone to tablet with a wire.
     
  12. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    There's like 12 lg hidden menus lol which one?
     
  13. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    nypdauxx likes this.
  14. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    I don't see that choice I see a lot of hidden menu but not the one from our post, I see one says lte DM mode
     
  15. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Somewhere in your hidden menu should be either "DUN NAI" or "Extend Modem". Set this option to "No".

    There's also something I read somewhere about setting something like ro.properties.tether.deny to "false" in build.prop.. It's in that thread I linked you to. That build.prop mod together with the WiFi tether app should get you into infrastructure mode :)
     
    Mauiphatz likes this.
  16. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Add the following line to /system/build.prop


    ro.tether.deny=false

    And then install "hotspot widget". If that doesn't work, try the latest beta of wireless tether for root users from code.Google.com
     
    nypdauxx likes this.
  17. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    This attachment is what I see
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Iunno, then. The best I can say is try all the hidden menus until you find the one that has Data Settings in it. They're two different phones, but they're both LG so they should be relatively similar internally
     
    nypdauxx likes this.
  19. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    Using wireless tether I changed device profile to a lg phone, I choose lg optimus s or lg marquee then under setup method choose soft tap. Change channel to auto and your done, your nexus 7 will find your device. Goodbye ad hoc...
     
  20. Jay Aristide

    Jay Aristide Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Glad you got it working, man :)
     
  21. nypdauxx

    nypdauxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    42
    1
    16

Share This Page

Loading...