1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Some links to help you to ICS Now with .246 FXZ (updated 10/23/12)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dautley, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Bondad

    Bondad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    25
    3
    16
    I am running a stock 5.9.905 ROOTED but nothing frozen. I downloaded the Blur_Version.5.9.905 to 6.7.232.XT875.Verizon.en.US.zip and installed it on the root of my external SD card.

    I have attempted to apply the update three times and get the following:

    -- Install / sdcard ...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    Installing update...
    Verifying current system...
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/bin/logwrapp
    er", "4a63fec78956def045b442910a754fa640db8f5a". "16ec
    2444c44c8e2a73a969cb49834d6f6fe229d7")
    E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Do you have bootstrap or safestrap installed? If you are set on flashing the leak you could use a modified 5.9.905 and restore your system to complete stock without losing data, flash the leak and then root.

    http://androidforums.com/bionic-all-things-root/480176-how-flash-5-9-902-5-9-905-rsdlite.html
     
  3. Bondad

    Bondad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    25
    3
    16
    Yes I have bootstrap loaded. Can I just uninstall that or do I need to flash back to 905?
     
  4. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    you can try and remove bootstrap following these instructions I copy from xda-developers - View Single Post - [CWM On Boot][Any Razr][for Bootstrap] CWM Recovery Auto Boot PKG.


    Originally Posted by tgeigel
    How do I remove this? I want to install safestrap and I read this file must be removed.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
    It's complicated to remove.
    Because, it must also be removed CWM recovery.

    Follow the below with very careful:

    Please work with RootExplorer.

    [Removing CWM on Boot]
    1) Delete file /system/bin/mot_boot_mode
    2) Rename file /system/bin/mot_boot_mode.bin to /system/bin/mot_boot_mode

    [Removing CWM Recovery]
    1) Delete file /system/bin/logwrapper
    2) Delete file /system/bin/hijack
    3) Rename file /system/bin/logwrapper.bin to /system/bin/logwrapper
    4) Delete directory /preinstall/recovery

    But, Own Your Risk!

    Good luck!

    If that does not work use the modified 5.9.905 fxz file from the link I posted earlier
     
  5. Bondad

    Bondad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    25
    3
    16
    Thanks dbif. That manual removal scares me so I flashed back to modified 905, then proceeded with the flash to ICS. So far it's looking good. I got past the errors I had previously. I should know for sure in 15 minutes or so...

    Bondad
     
  6. Bondad

    Bondad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    25
    3
    16
    And


    it


    flipping


    WORKED!!
    THANKS ALL!
     
  7. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    When i flash to .232 will i loose my data?
     
  8. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    coming from .905 you won't loose data.
     
  9. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I would probably wait for the OTA at this point, it should be in two, three weeks tops.
     
    rogueally likes this.
  10. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    I been waiting since mid august thinking its going to roll out beggining of september. Now i have to wait 2 moee weeks

    Data drops

    Data drops

    No 4g

    Ahhhhhhhhhh the insanity
     
  11. rogueally

    rogueally Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    151
    24
    58

    I have .229 and have been procrastinating moving on past this leak....so if you were me...would you wait or flash...and yes .229 has been pretty good for me.
     
  12. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I would wait
     
    rogueally likes this.
  13. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    Me too at this point
     
  14. Paraflier

    Paraflier Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    167
    8
    56
    Male
    Pierce County, WA
    Tapping my foot impatiently..... I want to run the ICS leak to get my 4G. But..... I know me. I know I like to rush into things w/o following directions to a "t" and I will mess something up royally. lol.

    Patience..... Sigh. Is it here yet?
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    TBH, .232 is pretty slick, and fixes many (but not most) of the problems encountered by GB users. Good thing about being .229 is that you can go to .232 and still have full .905 FXZ capability to take the official OTA whenever it is released.
     
  16. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    Hopefully on track for this week.....
     
  17. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    So, I found you guys. Alright, I'm going to ask what I have read on here that has been asked before but I want to make without a shadow of a doubt that I don't screw up my Bionic. I love this phone and I don't want anything to go wrong with it. So, what is my process for moving to ICS? I am not rooted and I won't root this phone. So with that out of the way I have downloaded on my laptop RSDLite and the other file called Blur_Version.

    Also alot of people have asked will you loose data when changing over? I ask that as well. I don't want to loose how my screens are set up right now so will it just load ICS and everything I have set up will stay the same, is it that smart? I realize some of these questions are repeated and some are a bit stupid but I'm asking honestly here as I really truly don't want to screw this phone up. Mostly because I really don't want to have to set it all back up again with a replacement.

    Thanks again everyone and hopefully I'll be on ICS soon because I'm not patient enough to wait for the OTA.
     
  18. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    Did I mention that I'm NOT very PATIENT!!?? (taps foot) LOL
     
  19. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    ok patient man (woman). I would use 6.7.232 leak.


    To apply any of the ICS leaks
    !! WARNING: ONLY PROCEED WITH FULLY CHARGED BATTERY !!
    1.) You must start with stock, unmodified 5.9.905 system. (Rooted is ok).
    2.) Download the update onto your external sd-card.
    3.) Power down your phone.
    4.) Hold down both volume buttons, then press power button.
    5.) Select recovery by pressing volume down then volume up.
    6.) At the fancy logo press both volume buttons.
    7.) Select "apply update" and then select the file downloaded in step 1 (Use vol up/down to navigate and power to select).
    8.) Reboot.


    this was copied and pasted from previous post.....:)
     
    knitpurlgurl likes this.
  20. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    I appreciate the help. I'm not going to root this phone. I just want to be on ICS. Now will I loose how my phone is set up right now? And will I be able to go back to stock once the update hits? If it ever hits. Lol. Thanks again!
     
  21. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    The orientation of icons and widgets will be different with ICS. It is more customizable than GB however.

    You will be able to return to stock GB .905 from ICS build 6.7.232 using RSD lite and the 905 FXZ.

    You could also use SamuriHL's House of Bionic to move from .232 to the OTA build without app or data loss if/when that time comes.
     
  22. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    OK, so it took three attempts at selecting the file in order to get it to start the loading process. I kept getting the E:signature verification failed. I think my issue was the sd card wasn't seated quite all the way for some reason. I was lucky enough to leave the back off of my phone in case of a battery pull and what have you. So anyways, I got it all installed and now my phone is rebooting....let's hope I didn't just screw something up. I followed directions to a "T". Fully charged...check download and put file onto sd card.....check power down phone and follow steps to install update....check!
     
  23. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    Alright I'm on ICS and I must say having never seen it before other than a few screen shots here and there, it is like having a brand new phone! The quality of the display seems improved for me and I love being able to put multiple apps in the drawer at the bottom, that is one KICKASS idea and I love it! Only one question...where did the task killer go running off to? Is it replaced with smart actions now?
     
  24. HotPepper

    HotPepper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    169
    4
    36
    Task killers suck
     
  25. smyther

    smyther Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    Ok help please....after the news about Q4 I am doing .232 update. So i downloaded from first post unzipped it but when i go to the recovery part the file is not avaliable to select??? I think the file is not in the right directorie
     

Share This Page

Loading...