• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Sprint] Issues Rooting HTC One

apophus

Lurker
May 26, 2013
So, has anyone attempted to root an HTC One, yet? I unlocked the boot loader and flashed TWRP. But then, when I went to make a recovery it listed my internal memory at about 1.7 GB (I actually have something like 27 GB). Further, whenever I try to go through with it anyway, I get an error message that essentially tells me it is unable to mount /system. I'm honestly a bit stumped, and I've now attempted this twice to be sure I hadn't simply messed up somewhere.

I'd love some advice from someone who may know better than I do. I'm still relatively new at this.

what process did you use? sounds like you maybe have htcdumlock enabled,wich has installed twrp into the boot partition.

if thats the case,we need to restore your original boot image.

normally with htcdumlock,the recovery backups up the boot image,you flash the rom,and if needed,you can restore the original boot image.

not being that familiar with actually using dumlock,im not sure wat the exact settings are,but you might look for an option in recovery to restore the boot image.

failing that,you might try flashing a rom,or we can try and find you a stock boot image to flash using fastboot.

Upvote 0
Ok, I may have figured out what went wrong. So, I went ahead and relocked my boot loader and ran RUU to get back to square one. I unlocked the boot loader and stopped myself...I noticed a subtle difference with TWRP versions for the HTC One. It seems like there's a difference - one is 2.5.0.0-m7 and the other is 2.5.0.0-m7wls. I have the Sprint model (the latter version), not the AT&T/etc. model (the former version). Once I did that, it seems like all went well.

That's what I get for not paying more attention to details. It's a heads-up for anyone rooting an HTC One, at least.

Thank you for responding.

Upvote 0