• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Sprint telling me I can't activate a rooted phone?

JBOY11

Nov 6, 2011
So I recently bought a used rooted EVO 4g from Ebay with Cyanogen 7 (because I'm not really tech savvy enough to figure out how to root an EVO myself). I called Sprint to activate it and they tried the ##****# codes and hands free activation with me and it didn't work. After trying many things, and talking with advanced tech support. They asked if the phone was rooted, and I said yes. The advanced tech support guy said that they wouldn't be able to activate my phone unless it was flashed back to the original UI. He recommended me to just return the phone back to the Ebay seller.

I'm not very tech savvy as I stated earlier, so I figured I would ask you talented people if it is possible to activate it before I decide to send it back to the seller and just get stock EVO.

Thanks!

So I recently bought a used rooted EVO 4g from Ebay with Cyanogen 7 (because I'm not really tech savvy enough to figure out how to root an EVO myself). I called Sprint to activate it and they tried the ##****# codes and hands free activation with me and it didn't work. After trying many things, and talking with advanced tech support. They asked if the phone was rooted, and I said yes. The advanced tech support guy said that they wouldn't be able to activate my phone unless it was flashed back to the original UI. He recommended me to just return the phone back to the Ebay seller.

I'm not very tech savvy as I stated earlier, so I figured I would ask you talented people if it is possible to activate it before I decide to send it back to the seller and just get stock EVO.

Thanks!
welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!!!!!!