• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Starting a Game Dev Team

BlindGeek81

Lurker
Jul 25, 2015
Hi, everyone! :D I am a website developer in Rapid City, SD. I am legally blind; when I am on the computer (Windows 7), I use 350x-400x screen magnification. I have always been interested in game development, but have difficulty coding "from scratch".

I would like to get a small team of developers together - a coder or two, a graphic artist, and someone who can create sound effects and background music - to develop some awesome game ideas I have. I would also like to contribute my skills as another artist in our team; I enjoy creating characters, smaller game elements (i.e. jewels in a Bejeweled clone or pipes in a Flow clone), and UI elements of the game. I will also come up with the name and powerup/obstacle ideas, I need an artist who is good with the bigger picture - backgrounds, logos, etc. At least one of the coders should be good with special effects.

I also want to omit some features of today's more popular games, such as the limitation of 5 lives and needing to ask friends for help. Scores, however, can be shared on any popular social media site. There will also be different modes for each game:
  • Endless - play until you lose - no time, no moves, though things will change as the level gets higher)
  • Timed - get the highest score before time runs out
  • Puzzle/Goal - classic gameplay, with goals, moves, stars, etc.

When the games are ready for publication, they will be free, but an ad-free version will be available for purchase. I'm not worried about money; I just want to make something awesome.