• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps String problem (sqlite-query)

Ok, so you are using a toast to see what is in query1... and can I assume that query1 = "Test"?

where in the code are you calling the toast? Could the value of query1 have changed by the time the SQL is called?

Put your Toast.makeText(...) call right before
Code:
String keyword = "name1 LIKE '%"+query1+"%'";

Is it still the string you expect it to be?

Upvote 0
Seems like the Toast will not be shown, when I put it right before this line?! It all seems to be very slow....but it seems, you`re right.

I call ladeDaten(String query1) at the end of an onItemSelected (OnItemSelectedListener).
query1 = selecteditem...it looks like the value (query1) of item is still null?! ...any ideas or workaround for that?
As I said, I

Upvote 0
post your code for the selected item listener... maybe we can figure out what's wrong there.

I'm a Java developer for web applications (J2EE) but not really for Android, so I haven't really worked with Android event handlers a lot... But maybe an extra pair of eyes on your code is all we need here :)

Upvote 0
It`s just this:

public class MyOnItemSelectedListener1 implements OnItemSelectedListener {
public void onItemSelected(AdapterView<?> parent,
View view, int pos, long id) {
ladeDaten(parent.getItemAtPosition(pos).toString());
}

public void onNothingSelected(AdapterView<?> parent) {
// Do nothing. }}
}
}

This was the one with the toast:

public
class MyOnItemSelectedListener1 implements OnItemSelectedListener {
publicvoid onItemSelected(AdapterView<?> parent,
View view, int pos, long id) {
Toast.makeText(parent.getContext(),
parent.getItemAtPosition(pos).toString(), Toast.LENGTH_SHORT).show();
ladeDaten(parent.getItemAtPosition(pos).toString());
}

publicvoid onNothingSelected(AdapterView<?> parent) {
// Do nothing. }}
}
}

Upvote 0