• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Suggested Apps for a Rookie

Hey guys,

As i said in my introduction post on the forum i am new to the Android. Coming from the blackberry i liked some of the possibilities of Android but i have found some things lacking. So in short im turning to the pro's to find some things that can help me do things i did on my BB. So...

1.) Whats the best alternative browser for Android. I got Opera installed right now but i dont know if i want to stick with it.

2.) What's the best tethering software for android? My PC is an XP SP3, phone is a Behold II.

3.) Is there a software that i can check more than one gmail inbox? On my BB's Gmail app i was able to check more than one account.

4.) What's the best IM program? Looking for one that would handle multiple gchat accounts, aim, msn, yahoo, etc I used IM+ for BB that even did twitter and FB Chat, anything like it?

5.) Best twitter app? I'm using Twitdroid but im not impressed just yet.

6.) Best widgets, im looking for some really neat things to be on my desktops. So im looking for your opinions.

Thank you so much guys. I know it is taking a few minutes out of your time and so im really appreciative.

Sincerely,

Kenny

Reactions: wryun
Hey guys,

As i said in my introduction post on the forum i am new to the Android. Coming from the blackberry i liked some of the possibilities of Android but i have found some things lacking. So in short im turning to the pro's to find some things that can help me do things i did on my BB. So...

1.) Whats the best alternative browser for Android. I got Opera installed right now but i dont know if i want to stick with it.
I really think this is more up to you than anything. personally, the stock browser does exactly what i want it to. you could also try dolphin and skyfire, which is still in beta

2.) What's the best tethering software for android? My PC is an XP SP3, phone is a Behold II.