1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General SUPER ANNOYING typing problem with the browsers...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Connectz, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Connectz

    Connectz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    353
    33
    43
    Getting Money
    Neptune
    Okay, this is a problem I have seen in every android browser I've tried. Lets say you are typing in a reply to a thread on a forum or elsewhere where you can type replies. Lets say you want to go back and edit what you typed. To do this, you'd just touch the screen at the point you want to edit to make the cursor go there. ... ........ ... ................. .... ..... :mad: ... .......... Well, thats how it is supposed to work, right? On my phone, and this happened on my EVO as well, when I touch the screen to place the cursor where I want to edit, it doesn't happen :mad: The cursor just goes where it feels like going. This my friends, is HIGHLY annoying!

    It sometimes makes replying on the web impossible or at the very least, impractical! I'm on the go a lot and when i'm idle, I like to browse forums and blogs and make replies. This problem makes it a chore to make replies as I have to be super accurate so I don't have to go back and make edits.

    Has anyone else had this issue? If there is a fix, PLEASE let me know!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    when the little blue indicator pops up should be able to drag it to where you want...
     
  3. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
  4. Connectz

    Connectz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    353
    33
    43
    Getting Money
    Neptune
    I wonder if this is happening to anyone else. Maybe if enough people star the issue, google will take notice and fix it. Its such a blatant irritant that more people should be speaking about it.
     
  5. CAMAN

    CAMAN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    60
    27
    23
    Minnesota
    Yup happens here and on my old Droid2 also.
     
  6. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Root and load a custom 4.0.3 AOSP ROM. That fixed it for me. I still have lad in landscape when typing but I can live with that and assume it will be fixed with a future software update.
     
  7. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    yeah i've had this prob with all three android phones i've had, including the nexus. never had that prob with my iphone. android needs to fix that-it's very annoying :mad:
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    It depends on the forum software being used, I have found.
     
  9. vandyman

    vandyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    1,209
    730
    233
    Industrial Electrician
    South Jersey
    Use Tapatalk when you are in the forums.

    And Dolphin HD browser may help with your other quests.
     
  10. g nexta

    g nexta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    162
    9
    36
    near DC
    I don't have this problem at all. Possibly because I use SwiftKey X? It's an awesome keyboard with a free trial period. (I've had to move the cursor twice just writing this with no problems)
     
  11. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more

    thought they deactivated tapatalk on these forums?
     
  12. g nexta

    g nexta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    162
    9
    36
    near DC
    I'm using tapatalk right now.
     
  13. BzB

    BzB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    521
    106
    93
    i have this problem as well. the keyboard app i use (smart keyboard) has directional arrows on the keyboard layout that allow me to put the cursor where i want it. that helps. but it's still annoying that the cursor doesn't go where you select by default though.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Yeppers!
     
  15. bird jam

    bird jam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    134
    4
    56
    I use Swype and this annoys me too. Before Swype, I was using Swiftkey X and had the same problem. It makes me miss my old DInc with the optical joystick that I could move the cursor with easily.
     
  16. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    I'm guessing the issue has something to do with how much space the keyboard takes up. It can vary greatly from phone to phone and keyboard app to keyboard app. I think they sacrifice typing correction to avoid using up 2/3 or more of the web page's visible area. Just a guess...it doesn't seem like something they couldn't have fixed by now...
     
  17. g nexta

    g nexta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    162
    9
    36
    near DC
    (can anyone tell me why my avatar doesn't show up? I've been trying to get it too. do I need 50 posts or something)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...