1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Switch between ROMs?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TXSooner, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    195
    12
    38
    I did a search and couldn't find exactly what Im looking for. If there is a thread out there with this info, please let me know so we can remove this thread.

    I rooted my Incredible yesterday after a couple months of contemplating it (I know :D) And I think I want to try Virtuous ROM. So say I go to Virtuous, but end up wanting to go back to how I have it now (stock, root, froyo). Is that going to be hard? Is that what the nandroid backup is for? Say I go to Virtuous, then decide I wanna try Cyanogen. Do I just flash the new one after doing a Nandroid, then if I dont like Cyanogen I can just open the backup and bam it's back to Virtuous?

    Nub questions I know, but Im skerred. :)

    Last night I installed the rotary lockscreen from Virtuous on my stock rooted rom and I really like it. If I decide I dont like it, how hard is it to change something as small as an addon, rather than the whole ROM?

    Sorry for the longwinded post.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MaGaHi

    MaGaHi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    Get ROM Manager and do a Nandroid backup of ur current setup and the flash virtuous or any other rom u want to mess with. And if u don't dont like any of em just boot into recovery - wipe - do a restore. Thats it!! The 2 ROM with the most potential right now is the new sense by incdoes and the latest nightly from cyanogen.
     
  3. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    195
    12
    38
    Thank you for the reply, I will give it a shot!
     
  4. stanfna

    stanfna Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    131
    29
    43
    when you do a restore, does it restore all your settings? widgets, app preferences etc.?
     
  5. MarcM

    MarcM Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    58
    1
    16
    I recommend doing your backups and restores directly by booting into recovery. I, and evidently some others, have had problems using ROM Manager for this. Some are even bricked.
     
  6. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    Yup. It basically takes an image of your phone and then restores it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...