1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Swype is very buggy

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Dabrador, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
    Ever since I downloaded the beta version of Swype, I've had nothing but problems. The biggest is that this version is causing my phone to lock up. I then have to pull the battery and restart the phone. This has NEVER happened since I got the phone on launch day.

    It started happening immediately after I downloaded the beta. I've tried to uninstall and then reinstall and I get the same problem.

    It's gotten so bad that I've uninstalled Swype and moved to Shapewriter.

    Is anyone else having issues this serious?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mrempp

    mrempp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    30
    3
    16
    no problems with it for me, much better than the version i was using before that.
     
  3. Bigdaddy2009

    Bigdaddy2009 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    45
    0
    35
    IT HelpDesk
    Richmond, Va
    i have not have one bit of issues with it. It is working extremely well for me.
     
  4. Chinpokomon

    Chinpokomon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I'm sorry to hear that you're having problems. Please head over to the Swype forums, and hopefully we can resolve your issues there.
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    This beta release far exceeded my expectations for it. I LOVE it, and I haven't experienced one, single glitch or bug.
     
  6. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    +1 on the Hero for me. Great app. I hope they don't charge $50 for it when it goes to release, cuz I'd be sorely tempted :)
     
  7. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    When I try to use it it says dies not match my screen size... what can I do to fix this?
     
  8. the208

    the208 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    116
    10
    38
    Washington
    Try uninstalling Swype, and then re-install. I have not had one single problem with Swype.
     
  9. (G)

    (G) Android Expert
    Rank:
     #306
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    751
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    No problems with the beta for me on a Moto Droid, or my wife on an Eris.
     
  10. Droidcula

    Droidcula Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    157
    1
    36
    Beta works great for me on the Eris.
     
  11. Droidcula

    Droidcula Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    157
    1
    36
    there's several leaked and cracked versions floating around. Different sizes and different phones. I had the same problem until I ran across the one that was for the Eris running 1.5. I got in on the Beta right before they closed down the signup. Before that I was running leaked version on the 1.5. Couldn't get it to work when I updated. Then got in on the Beta testing. It works great for me.
     
  12. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Works great for me, in nexus
     
  13. Renko

    Renko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    35
    4
    16
    use the alternative keyboards SlideIT or Shapewriter.

    you can find them on the Market too.
     
  14. Gamecock9701

    Gamecock9701 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I keep getting an error message saying the license is not good (after I run installer). very frustrating
     
  15. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    would there happen to be a link to the apk file for the eris for those of us that missed the beta before it closed?
     
  16. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    i had the leaked version of swype for a while, then all of a sudden it stopped working

    i truly hate the stock keyboard
     
  17. NajinX

    NajinX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    Besides installation problems (due to a user stampede) I haven't had any issues with Swype. I've recommended it everyone that will listen, and I love showing it off to my wife and oldest son (iZombies).

    I love it.

    Swype, my fat fingers salute you!
     
  18. dbs

    dbs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Best text input I,ve used on my Moto Droid. Only problem is that I have to de-select and re-select app on boot.
     
  19. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    i have found an apk file for the beta for the droid....

    does anyone have a link to the eris version??
     
  20. lswon

    lswon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    I have the same problem on my Nexus One. Gives me an error msg when I boot the phone.
     
  21. shatter2day

    shatter2day Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I love swpe, same issue as dbs though. Get an eror message on the phone's startup, but just changing the keyboard back to the stock one then back to swpe gets it working again. Minor issue for me, i can deal with it, hopefully they'll find a fix soon.
     
  22. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    I love getting ignored, lol

    J/k
     
  23. NajinX

    NajinX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    I had to reboot my phone today (unrelated to Swype).

    When I started it back up, I got an error from Swype saying my device wasn't authorized or something like that. I would get beeped at whenever trying to use it for text input.

    I went into my task killing app and terminated the Swype app. Then I went back to my email and Swype worked fine.

    Swype rocks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...