• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Tasker: Location Based Profile Issues

bzowk

Lurker
Dec 28, 2013
Hey Guys -

I'm fairly new to Android after being an iPhone (jailbroken, of course) person for years. I got an HTC One a couple of months ago and currently my favorite app is Tasker. The only issue I've had with it is that I can't ever get Location States to work correctly so thought I'd post and ask.

One of the main tasks I am trying to create using Location is to enable / disable WiFi tethering for my iPad. I have tried setting it up using different variations of the below 2 profiles:

Disable WAP
2 Locations + 1 task which includes 3 actions
- Location: Home / Net:On - GPS:On - Set location to where my house is with Radius of 200m
+
- Location: Work / Net:On - GPS:On - Set location to where my house is with Radius of 300m
- Task:
- Disable WAP - Set Bluetooth:Off - Set Wifi Tether:Off - Set Wifi:On

Enable WAP
1 State + 1 task which includes 2 actions
State: Not connected to WiFi
- Task
- Enable WAP / Set Wifi Tether:On - Set Bluetooth: On

Note: The bluetooth parts above are just for preference since I only use it in car...

I thought that this would work, but after testing, it doesn't work that well. I've read the manual, but must be misunderstanding something.

Questions
1. What should I do differently to get this working as close to 100% as possible? Personally, it working proerly is more important to me than a bit of extra battery power - but - don't want to use a ton obviously.

2. If Wifi is in the "Off" state, can Tasker still scan for connectable APs and just not connect to them or does Wifi have to be on even for scanning? I ask this because I first considered disabling Wifi Tethering when connected to an AP - but - if Wifi Tethering is on, Wifi is off therefore could not auto connect (therefore my question)