1. Check out our app, Forums for Android! Download and leave feedback here!

General Text error message

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BoldBelvoir, Aug 11, 2009.

1. BoldBelvoir

BoldBelvoir Member

Aug 11, 2009
    Hi all

I'm new to the G1, having acquired an unlocked phone, now working on the Virgin network (UK). I have ironed out all problems and queries, with one exception.

When booting the phone, I always get the message 'Sorry the sending of txt messages to this number is not possible.', which I have to dismiss about 9 or 10 times. The message then periodically appears at random throughout the day.

I have contacted both T-mobile and HTC about this problem, who just either refered me to the manual, instructed to delete all text threads or instructed me to do a factory reset (all of which I did), but no difference.

I was originally running Android 1.1, now upgraded to 1.5 and the problem still persists.

I swapped the Virgin SIM for a PAYG T-Mobile SIM and the messages seem to stop, so the problem seems to be related to the Virgin network? Maybe there's an APN setting I can tweak somewhere that I haven't tried.

I must stress SMS and MMS works, send and receive, but I get these erroneous messages which are driving me nuts!

Any ideas? Thanks for looking,

Advertisement

2. Alkie Q

Alkie Q New Member

Nov 20, 2009
    I too am having exactly the same problem and have tried everything as detailed above. It would be great if anyone has an answer to this.

Main difference is I am running 1.6

3. Sweed

Sweed Well-Known Member

Sep 27, 2009
    by virgin do you mean virgin mobile?
    I wasn't aware that they used sim cards.

the problem may vary well be the apn settings if virgin runs on a different frequency than t-mobile.
    I think sms would be sent through 2g/edge networks.
    if you don't have that then that could be why
    it can't send the message through,
    still, from what I know about sms, that error makes no sense to me.

4. Alkie Q