• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

The Foodies Corner

breadnatty08

pain rustique
Nov 8, 2009
Hey all, wanted to start a place for everyone to hang out and talk about food!
Share a recipe, fun restaurant, cooking techniques anything about food :D
My wife and I are HUGE foodies, it's where the bulk of our income goes to. We love dining out in fancy places as much as possible. I can't remember the last birthday of ours where we gifted eachother outside of a nice meal :)
We also both work in the industry; I'm a chef and she is a sales assistant for a catering company.
Anyway, share away! :beer:

Okay, Dreadnatty, I'll get this started with a recipe I came up with that I thought I'd never share. IF you share it, please give credit where credit is due ;)

PERFECT OATMEAL
Feeds four people

How do most people eat oatmeal? They cook it... then they put butter, sugar, milk and cinnamon on top and stir it around. Some bites get a lot of the good stuff, and other bites are just... oatmeal. So what I did was come up with a recipe to cook all that stuff INTO the oatmeal so every bite is consistently delicious. Here we go:

3 Cups of 1-minute oatmeal
2 cups milk
3 cups water
1/2 cup sugar (if that turns out too sweet for you, try 1/3)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 cup cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter

PLEASE don't chintz out here and use margarine, spread or some kind of butter substitute! It's important that you use REAL COW BUTTER here and I'll tell you why in a minute.

Mix the water, milk, salt and sugar in a pan or pot until dissolved, and then put it on high heat. Add the butter to melt and then the cinnamon to cover the surface. When the butter is melted stir it all up really well so the butter and cinnamon bond together. What you're going to end up with is a pan full of what looks like cappucino.

While we're waiting for it to heat, here's why you want to use BUTTER: