1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The Home Screen(s) Customization Thread (ahome, etc...)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gwlaw99, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    Has anyone gotten any of these programs to work such as ahome, pandaome, sweeter home? If so what themes have you been able to get working on the droid?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MotoDroidHelpandInfo

    MotoDroidHelpandInfo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    I think open home is the only one that works 100%. I tried panda home. Worked somewhat although i just thought the themes where not that great.
     
  3. ratchetjaw

    ratchetjaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009

    Jan 30, 2009
    260
    10
    38
    I am using open Home. Works great so far. Has 7 screens but I am only using 5 right now
     
  4. dakoop

    dakoop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    119
    0
    35
    I tried a bunch of them and wasn't impressed. Is it because they aren't set up for 2.0 yet?
     
  5. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    214
    1
    36
    Virginia
    Does the full version of Open Home support 3rd party widgets. I couldn't find a way to add those in the lite version.
     
  6. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    Several open home reviews say it force closes a lot. comments?
     
  7. DGalt

    DGalt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    367
    8
    36
    I'm using open home. It's ok. Definitely a bit slower than just running the android UI by itself. Also, it tends to want to ForceClose every time I restart the phone.
     
  8. phildo2004

    phildo2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    6
    0
    25
    American Eagle store associate
    springfield, ohio
    i am using the ahome full and i love it the app selection isnt huge but i like it alot, havent had a chance to check openhome yet though.......
     
  9. ratchetjaw

    ratchetjaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009

    Jan 30, 2009
    260
    10
    38
    Yes I have the full version. Using 3rd party. Widgets with issues. I havevhad a few force coses.
     
  10. MysteryloverAnne

    MysteryloverAnne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    75
    0
    35
    Minnesota
    Pandahome garbled the screen and would crash...I uninstalled and have been hesitant to try anything similar since.
     
  11. vtlock

    vtlock Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    0
    5
  12. dakoop

    dakoop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    119
    0
    35
    Bump for more info.
     
  13. iawd1

    iawd1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008

    Nov 20, 2008
    73
    4
    16
    bump again
     
  14. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    I tried out Sweeterhome. I really like the customization options. The ability to set up a button that toggles a "Recent SMS" and/or "Recent Call" window that you can setup and size yourself is awesome. The app trays are also pretty nice.

    Unfortunately I couldn't really find any use for the other 4 screens. Maybe I just didn't know where to look, but I could not find a way to add any widgets, so my main screen had an app tray, two springboards for my recent calls and texts, and that was it. I had 4 other screens and nothing that I wanted to put on them.

    I'm going to keep playing with it, but right now the standard UI is better for me.
     
  15. dbu

    dbu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    Hello all, Droid noob here. I was looking at some home replacement apps (aHome, and Open Home), and I was wondering if anyone has experience with these on the Droid, or if they are even compatible yet? And if they work, which one would you recommend?
     
  16. gthomas719

    gthomas719 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    0
    25
    Sr. Lead Systems Admin
    Leesburg, Va.
    Hey guys,

    OK, I'm new to this whole Android thing with my new Droid. I have been reading around and decided to try the Open Home app to give me more home screens and that cool looking flip clock and weather widget I saw on the HTC. After downloading it and running it, it seems like it is just running as another app on the phone, instead of actually "replacing" my old home screen. Is it supposed to work like that? Did I do something wrong? How exactly are you supposed to configure it on the new droid to take over your old home screen?:eek:
     
  17. XsimonbelmontX

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Ok, I have a question...I have tried a few different ones, including Open Home and Panda Home...both have some minor bugs that still need worked out, but I like the features and would still like to use one of them in the meantime. Just to keep things simple let's say I'm going with Open Home. I installed it, and can open it from the menu, but the home button still takes meback to the original Android home. When I first installed Open Home, and would press the home button I would get a prompt with a choice between the two, and I mistakenly checked the little box to always use the original home rather than Open Home, so now when I press the home key it no longer gives me a choice, and I have been unable to find a way to change it back anywhere in the general settings or in the Open Home settings. I've even tried uninstalling and reinstalling Open Home and Panda Home, which didn't help. Does anyone have any idea what I can do? I don't want to have to juggle two different home screens and manually go back into Open Home every time I hit the home button.
     
  18. DGalt

    DGalt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    367
    8
    36
    I had the same issue. The only way I was able to get that prompt back was to download panda home (since it's free). when you hit the home screen button you'll get the prompt. select open home and then uninstall panda home.
     
  19. ratchetjaw

    ratchetjaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009

    Jan 30, 2009
    260
    10
    38
    Go into your settings,applications,manage apps. Find your app/homescreen picl clear defaults
     
  20. punyweakling

    punyweakling Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009

    Mar 25, 2009
    150
    18
    38
    Widget etc are coming in the Preview 2 release which will hopefully be out before 2010.
     
  21. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I am a complete MarketPlace newb and I am having trouble finding these things, for instance I am trying to find the Open Home app but when I search for it I get 250 some odd themes. How do I find the app itself??
     
  22. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    337
    59
    53
    CCTV operator
    Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX by way of Long Island, NY
    Try doing a search, then adding -theme, or -skin. That should narrow it down.

    EDIT: That does it. - theme, should be the first one. Haven't d/l'd myself as I'm waiting for more input.
     
  23. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Headed in the right direction but I am still not 100% . Search for "Open Home -theme" gives me 66 more skins and a search for "Open Home -skin" gives me 123 themes. A search for "Open Home -theme -skin" gives me 9 results and the 3rd result is Open Home Lite but now how do I find the full version?? :eek:
     
  24. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    337
    59
    53
    CCTV operator
    Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX by way of Long Island, NY
    I searched for GDE. Try 'open home full' and it should be the second one.
     
  25. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    You my friend are and asset to the Android community and you have my THANKS! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...