1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

transfering contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by karrieu, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    What is the easiest way to transfer all my contacts and info from my nextel blackberry to my Epic?

    Karrie
     

    Advertisement

  2. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Bluetooth. Turn Bluetooth on, on both devices. Tell the Blackberry to find devices. It should find Epic. Connect the two and you should get an option to send contacts to the Epic.

    This is how I had to do it with my Instinct and Epic.

    Edit - you may have to go into your Epic (in the wireless settings), turn Bluetooth on, and select the thing to be visible to other devices (or something like that).
     
    karrieu likes this.
  3. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    thanks now I just need to invest in a bluetooth

    Will all info come through this way (like email addys, mailing addys, etc)
     
  4. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    If your Blackberry was synced to Outlook, you can also export it to a CSV, then import it to Gmail Contacts. If you want to keep the Outlook and phone synced, then you'll have to look at a another program. I use Gsyncit.
     
  5. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    You don't need a bluetooth for the process that Forddna suggested, I assume that you knew that right?
     
    karrieu likes this.
  6. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    no I didn't know that but thanks I will try that now since I have my blackberry with me.
     
  7. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    ok it is asking me for the Epic passkey. where do I find this?
     
  8. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    Don't know, I'm not even sure that a BB can send contacts via bluetooth, but most pass keys are by default either 0000 or 1234.
     
  9. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    Is your BB synced to outlook on your computer?
     
  10. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    no it is not
     
  11. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    When your BB asked for the passcode, did you have your Epic right there with you? In my VERY limited experience, when one device asks for a passcode, the other device will be showing you the passcode.
     
  12. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    Too bad, that would be easy. If Bluetooth doesn't work, you could download BB desktop, sync it to outlook (assuming you have Outlook) and then export it to Gmail Contacts. If you don't have too many, you may just want to type them in on Gmail Contacts, so you can take advantage of the full size keyboard on your computer. Sorry, I don't know of any other options, hopefully someone else will chime in.
     
  13. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    ok the 1234 worked for the epic now let me try the 0000 for the bb
     
  14. kristv

    kristv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    188
    20
    38
    If I remember correctly, when one device asks for the pass code, it's just asking for you to make one up. When the other device wants to connect to it, you enter that same pass code in the connecting device when asked for it. I could be wrong, but I seem to remember past phones of mine working this way?
     
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    That does sound familiar.

    But when I sync'd my phone to my truck, my truck generated a passcode on the screen, and the Epic asked for a passcode. IIRC, it's a random generated passcode just used the one time.
     
  16. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    Ok got it to transfer now my problem is that the bb says it transfered 92 records and when I go to import to my contact on epic it says the file failed and didn't transfer but 1 record. Any clues as to if I am doing something wrong.
     
  17. Shane112358

    Shane112358 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    52
    2
    16
    Sprint will do this for you in the store also.
     
  18. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    yeah I think that is what I am going to have to do. Thanks everyone for your help. I am really not this stupid but with this phone I am :)
     
  19. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    ok one last thing. I got it to export then import but it imported all my twitter contacts and not my contacts from my bb. Any idea how I delete all contact without having to go through 1 by 1?
     
  20. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    Go to Gmail contacts and do it that way. Should be much faster. It may have even put them in a group for you, which would make it easier. After thinking about it a bit, the Twitter contacts may not have synced with Gmail. Try From the Contacts screen >menu>display options and see what is being synced.
     
  21. karrieu

    karrieu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    Southern Maryland
    ok thanks duratime
     

Share This Page

Loading...