1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ubuntu for Android

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by reilus, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    I've seen Ubuntu loaded on a phone in an article from last year. But, this is a project designed to make the OS more accessible. I thought this article might interest some of the people in our community:

    <.>
    When you are using your Android phone that has Ubuntu installed as well, it will behave in exactly the same fashion it does now. You will have access to all the Google applications, the Market, your contacts, and the ability to make calls. So in the morning when you grab your phone to check on the emails and SMS messages that came in overnight, nothing will change there. When you arrive to your office however, your phone can become your desktop. You will simply plug the HDMI-enabled device into its dock, and you have a the full Unity experience on your big screen.
    </>

    Canonical reveals Ubuntu for Android | ExtremeTech

    This version would not work on our phones; I got another version last year but I never played with it. This is what I want.
     

    Advertisement

    Andima and gbiggie like this.
  2. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    533
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    What version are you playing with?
     
  3. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    347
    68
    53
    I haven't been able to look at the link but I've gotten this to work on our phone . I'll post a screen shot when I get home. The one that I used was a virtual box live system. Worked pretty darn well though
    Edit: if you google XDa forums Ubuntu for Android a couple of solutions should pull up
     
  4. siccsudo

    siccsudo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    I'm running ubuntu using the app from the market called Ubuntu installer..works like a charm, no lag no FC,
     
    reilus likes this.
  5. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    347
    68
    53
    I think thats the one that I used
     
  6. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    533
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    What version:thinking:
    11.10 or 10.04...have not set it up yet but was wondering which one y'all used and confirmed working:D
     
  7. kanaida

    kanaida Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    788
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    788
    336
    113
    .Net and Android Programmer
    It's the one with vnc server for display. I'm waiting for someone to make xserver work so we get a real desktop and then things like HDMI would work
     
  8. thevisitor83

    thevisitor83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    124
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    las vegas
    .
    im happy to say i have successfully got ubuntu to boot on the esteem ill post the how to when i got it stable.
    these are the screen shots.
    links:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32305172/IMG_20120222_142512.jpg
    link2:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32305172/IMG_20120222_143100.jpg
    link3:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32305172/IMG_20120222_143133.jpg
     
    reilus likes this.
  9. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    533
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Which version :thinking: LOL

    TY +1:cool:
     
  10. ManlyParasite

    ManlyParasite Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    591
    99
    78
    Tech
    A dark room
    I have it downloading as I write this, at 90%
     
  11. kanaida

    kanaida Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    788
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    788
    336
    113
    .Net and Android Programmer
    I'd love to do that with an Asus transformer :) without vnc.
     
  12. thevisitor83

    thevisitor83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    124
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    las vegas
    i posted the pics in my first post.
     
    gbiggie likes this.
  13. ManlyParasite

    ManlyParasite Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    591
    99
    78
    Tech
    A dark room
    So how exactly does it boot? Like a dualboot and we choose at startup or can we switch back and forth on the fly?
     
  14. thevisitor83

    thevisitor83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    124
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    las vegas
    vnc-viewer in the market.ill post what i got in a few days.
     
  15. thevisitor83

    thevisitor83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    124
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    las vegas
    .
    damn im gonna try this now i hope this works eazyer then what i got.
     
  16. ManlyParasite

    ManlyParasite Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    591
    99
    78
    Tech
    A dark room
    Keeps saying the script needs root permissions, type su.
    I do, it gives root permission, retype the command and says it again. I'm gonna downloading on comp and transferring to sd
     
  17. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    I hope we can get a bluetooth keyboard with drivers. I don't want to use swype to type bash commands. I would love to get Back|Track on my Esteem at some point. That would be the ultimate pen testing tool... In theory, we can run anything as a virtual OS through ubuntu. =)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...