1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root *Update* Adobe Flash Player 11 with install video

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by InFiD3ViL, May 5, 2012.

  1. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    **Update.

    We have someone currently working on integrating the lib files directly into the Flash apk to make things easier for people. Would mean no permission changes and no having to directly copy the lib files into the correct folder. Just hang tight and he may have it in the morning.

    Instructions in video


    *Be sure to reboot phone after changing permissions as it won't reboot automatically
    ____________________________________________________
    I had it working once (played regular Youtube videos and Miniclip Flash games) until my Admire rebooted.

    I did as instructed, installed flash 11.0.1.1.152 apk and then copied the required lib folder and it's contents to /data/data/com.adobe.flashplayer/lib but it no longer works.

    I have the permissions set just as the video shows.

    If anyone has it working or if there is a step I am missing could someone please let me know? Thank you.

    Here is the Youtube link to getting it working on the Admire that I followed: Flash Player For Samsung Admire Installation Tutorial - YouTube


    btw, I am using Link2SD so I am thinking maybe this is a problem...
     

    Advertisement

  2. quechon

    quechon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    414
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    414
    37
    43
    Sometimes when you reboot your phone you have to set everything up again im talking about the lib not apk and i have mine working from my ext4 partition and it work and great
     
    InFiD3ViL likes this.
  3. exile1975

    exile1975 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    213
    47
    43
    Cupertino, CA
    yeah, if you have run a fix permissions script/program/routine recently that will revert the permissions to their default, and the reboot after that the lib files will be gone. just redo the lib files (copy into the data/... and reset permissions) and all will be good.

    took me a long time to realize it was the fix permissions script i use that was killing flash for me. hope it helps
     
    InFiD3ViL and pressy4pie like this.
  4. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    I got it working.

    Worked fine on mine after 2nd try but my sons Admire kept deleting the damn lib files after every reboot. I was like wtff?

    No matter what though I could not get it working with it using Link2 SD. Link2SD showed it not even having any lib files associated with it.

    So I moved it to internal memory and all was good.

    Quechon, I have no clue how the hell you got it workking on ext4. I am running ext2 and Link2SD would not associate the lib files no matter what I tried.

    Oh well. I got it working and I can afford the small loss of internal space.

    Thanks guys, I appreciate it.
     
  5. zimlokks

    zimlokks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    750
    244
    113
    Male
    Fish Distribution! :D
    Los Angeles
    i modified the apk u uploaded should work will upload asap can someone test it once its up?
     
  6. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Sure will. I have 2 other Admires to test it on.

    What is it that you did?
     
  7. zimlokks

    zimlokks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    750
    244
    113
    Male
    Fish Distribution! :D
    Los Angeles
    repackaged the apk with the modified libs resigned and does install should remove other app if not it wont install different signatures https://www.box.com/shared/c7253089a21897c6d192

    you won't be able to update this app unless i remodify the updated this should also stick at every boot
     
    InFiD3ViL likes this.
  8. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Cool man, thank you very much.

    Hopefully some others come in here to get it as well.

    I know alot of people have been wanting Adobe Flash but gave up on it for the Admire.

    It has been around for us for awhile but is a notorious pain in the ass. Some get it to work 1st try, some never do.
     
  9. zimlokks

    zimlokks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    750
    244
    113
    Male
    Fish Distribution! :D
    Los Angeles

    your welcome! umm i know the good thing is that you don't need to be rooted...even though i suggest it :3
     
  10. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Hmmm, I uninstalled the other apk and deleted the lib files.

    Then I reinstalled this one and rebooted. But now I just have the apk with an empty lib folder.

    Anything else I need to do?

    Did you try it out?
     
  11. zimlokks

    zimlokks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    750
    244
    113
    Male
    Fish Distribution! :D
    Los Angeles
    so it didn't work... thanks for the info ill start from here...ill mod the it again nd get to you guys tomorrow
     
  12. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    no problem man. No hurry at all.
     
    zimlokks likes this.
  13. socal6107

    socal6107 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012

    Mar 27, 2012
    132
    17
    38
    Metro PCS
    orange park FL
    does anyone know if there will be a cwm flashable flash player for the admire in the near future? i use my computer for videos but being able to play flash required games would be tight
     
  14. zimlokks

    zimlokks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    750
    244
    113
    Male
    Fish Distribution! :D
    Los Angeles
    ok found a possible solution! only possible if ur willing to make flashplayer a system app
    1) download the libs in OP
    2) download mi apk in post #7
    3) extract the libs nd place them in /system/libs/
    4) set the right permissions to rw-r--r-- change both owners to root(0)
    5) if the system rebooted ur ok no worries place the the flashplayer apk in /system/app/ nd change the permissions same as #4
    test this please and always make a backup incase the system doesn't like it
    im only 17 still in school working mi a** off to graduate so if anything goes wrong dont blame me...

    *update* i installed it on mi droid incredible of course it force closed because of the wrong libs but they were there o_O it maybe that the admire is an arm6 device nd the build.prop says arm6 not letting the files move correctly...since flashplayer is ment for arm7 devices... idk i hope to crack this problem soon...

    try adding this line to the build.prop "ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi-v7a" (without the quotes) this is for people who dont wanna make it a system app...any feedback is greatly appreciated!
     
  15. sahi2myfriend

    sahi2myfriend Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    128
    20
    38
    Male
    Its now available ...read my thread
     
  16. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    My friend, I think you made a mistake.
     
    zimlokks likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...