• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Updated to Metro 2.3 via Metro App Store, now cannot root phone!!

I was having some issues with cm7 and I wanted to go back to the metro pcs rom, and when I did on the Metro App Store there was a version 2.3, the same as cm7, so I upgraded to that and now nothing I try is rooting my phone. Gingerbreak, z4root, nothing. I even got superoneclick and it is not working, just hangs.

I am still pretty new at all of this, if anyone has any work arounds or can help, please do, I would greatly appreciate it!! :D

I have tried gingerbreak, which worked on my 2.2 update at the time, z4root, which looks like it is working, then says getting root shell and stops, and I cannot get superoneclick to work at all, my windows 7 pc and this ascend just do not like each other!! Does anyone else have any ideas on how to root this stupid phone, I really liked cm7 but had some major issues with the gps not working right and not being able to use the camera fully or the headset plug in. I need some serious help!!!

Upvote 0
how would i update past 2.2? i cant figure out ho to do the cm7

If you are on Metropcs, go to the app store and the ascend 2.3 upgrade is listed there. It is not listed on the website, this is the only place I found it. Once I updated that, my phone was not rooted anymore and now I cannot root it anyway I try!! I guess if I go back to 2.2, it will root with z4root. Maybe!!

Upvote 0
Wow, I never knew Metro came out with an official 2.3 update for the Ascend. This its the first I've heard of it, so I have no idea how to root it, but if this is true, I'm impressed it even exists. I wish Cricket would support their products like that. We never even got 2.2.