1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General updating to 2.3.4 help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by frankkduf, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. frankkduf

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    162
    8
    36
    Hi, is there a way to easily upgrade to 2.3.4 from a bell kg2 without rooting and without loosing data on the phone? have you try it and is it worth it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Piseth Peap

    Piseth Peap Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Could anyone tell me the benefit of upgrading the galaxy s2 from ginger bread 2.3.3 to 2.3.4?
     
  3. Piseth Peap

    Piseth Peap Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Can I install the Khmer Unicode font in Galaxy S2? Plz help me!
     
  4. Piseth Peap

    Piseth Peap Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I have tried to set my galaxy s2 go live on the weather status to any location I am there, but it cannot work. Plz give me a hand!
    Many thanks,
     
  5. patrat7

    patrat7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    32
    3
    16
    Boxing Instructor and Full Time Student
    NZ
  6. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Piseth Peap i think u should create ur own thread for ur questions

    frank, try clicking here n follow the instructions. KG2 firmware is 2.3.4. its not an official release, but it works fine on my phone. KG3 is also 2.3.4 but i had some issues with that n i recommend KG2

    EDIT: im a bit too late it seems. but no, it wont wipe ur data if u use the frankenstein XXKG2 version. it didnt wipe mine. KG3 is the newest one. and KG2 defnitely has better battery performance
     
    frankkduf likes this.
  7. FrenzyNinja

    FrenzyNinja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Pakistan
    i have downloaded the firmware for KKH3 but i cant see the .tar files all i see are some boot, .IMG and sl file
    ANY HELP?
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I'm assuming that you downloaded the XXKH3 package from Intratech's thread at XDA. It is a self-extracting 7zip archive; inside is an identically named TAR package which is what you flash.
     
  9. FrenzyNinja

    FrenzyNinja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Pakistan
    Yes the same one couldnt find elsewhere. When i double click it makes another .rar file and when extracted give the .bin files etc. i cant locate the .tar file
    sorry for being such a noob but i am new to this.
    Help??
     
  10. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    are u sure its a .rar file? once extracted, that file is a .tar file.. if u have a software like jzip etc, which extracts rar and tar files, u might get the two mixed up :D u have to extract just the self extracting file, just once.. flash the file thats extracted
     
    FrenzyNinja likes this.
  11. FrenzyNinja

    FrenzyNinja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Pakistan
    OMG ur the man i unistalled winrar and it showed me .tar file thanku so much. btw there is only 1 file and i think there should be three to upgrade the firmware any help on this?
    Last time i updated ph there were 3 files and now 1. According to xda dev its nothing to be worried about and can i know the difference in both methodologies
     
  12. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    cheers :D well i think some packages have the modem and CSC separately, and some have it all in one .tar.. if its one file, u put it in the PDA section of Odin

    btw, u dont need to uninstall winrar. even though the winrar icon shows, its still a tar file :)
     
  13. FrenzyNinja

    FrenzyNinja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Pakistan
    thanx mate for replying to my questions updated the new firmware well moving on to 7zip who needs winRar :p
     
  14. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    lol. cheers :D
     
    FrenzyNinja likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...