1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Velocity 1.2.2 OPEN Beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by savoxis, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. jaison80

    jaison80 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    150
    20
    48
    Male
    Cable Service Tech
    PA
    haha that's like the first person to sign the crack of a yearbook.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Pieareround

    Pieareround Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    55
    6
    16
    I would like to mention that my Ally, currently running 1.2.2 Beta 14, is at 1d 17h with 26% battery life.
     
  3. frugalally

    frugalally Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    On most apps within Market, I'm getting, "This app is incompatible with your LG Ally." This is for simple things like Facebook and Tiny Flashlight ... the list goes on. It even says apps I already have are incompatible. I tried setting the LCD density back to the default 240 (I had 200), and I still have the same issue. Ideas?

    This guy has the same issue ... is this an Andriod Market issue?

    I would try editing build.prop to lie to Market and make it think I have a Galaxy S, if ES File Explorer would give me root write access, which it won't ... it says "Sorry, test failed. This feature cannot be used on your phone."
     
  4. lightning1234

    lightning1234 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I updated from 1.2.1 to 1.2.2 last night. Seems very stable after installing ADW instead of ICS. If I have issues I will bring them up.
     
  5. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Beta 18 is uploading now, will be live at around 4:00pm PST

    I thin k I fixed the launcher... I havent had a fc in a few hours.


    I fixed adobe reader


    I HATE, yes HATE adobe flash player, I cant for the life of me get it integrated in the rom, it will INSTALL fine, but even with the libs it doesnt work right when its pre packaged, so for now, install fp on your own, I GIVE UP. (I JUST spent 3 hours working on this and getting nowhere) if someone else has a way to make it work packaged let me know, I am hoping that its just me being a ******


    EDIT: I just also noticed I cleaned the libs but left the APK in data, if you want to install flash on your own just uninstall the nonworking one from the manage apps system menu first
     
    JDread and frugalally like this.
  6. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Anyone else getting this?
     
  7. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,376
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,376
    664
    213
    Male
    electronic repair/computer repair/ android!
    Pennsylvania

    I had the same problem bud. Sometimes it would work and then it wouldn't
     
    savoxis likes this.
  8. frugalally

    frugalally Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    No problems with Beta 18, other than my still persisting market issue. Gonna try editing build.prop without ES File Explorer. Also, will try leaving LCDD at 240 for 24 hours.

    I'm using Go Launcher now, and I'm very satisfied ... will try ICSL for a bit.
     
  9. verizonuser13

    verizonuser13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    93
    12
    18
    any fixes on beta 18 other than launcher and adobe fix?? just wondering so i can try noticing other things lol

    edit: also the ICS Launcher has not crashed all day since I flashed and Adobe works. Great fix. Much appreciated
     
  10. username.unknown

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    Ok, I just installed beta 18 and here's what I've noticed. It's very fast and seems to be decently stable. I'm using the ics launcher and it's only FCed once or twice. Google voice was a little bit tricky to install but it worked after a reboot. The GPS is really really fast but puts me half a block away from where I should be. It is a nice ROM though and I understand it's still in beta.
     
  11. Pieareround

    Pieareround Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    55
    6
    16
    I really want to test the ICS Launcher for you, but there are just a couple problems I have with it. The first is locked features. A few sub-menus in the launcher settings are locked by popups asking me to pay to unlock them, and I can get similar features (based on menu titles) for free with Go Launcher. It's really smooth and looks attractive, but so are other, freer options on the Market. Also, I would really like the ability to control how many homescreens I have. I personally have only ever been able to fill up three homescreens at any given time, and having those two extra screens sitting there doing nothing with the ICS Launcher just bothers me in a way I can't really explain. Besides that, if I see any bugs or have any other complaints, I'll let you know.

    Oh, and I kept meaning to mention this but kept forgetting. I love the silly, sci-fi themed installation text.
     
  12. JJJandJ

    JJJandJ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    IT Manager
    Northern, NH
    I installed Beta 18, I wiped everything before installing
    I still have the launcher FC, mostly when I unlock the phone, I switch to Go Launcher
    Calendar does not display correctly, I replaced Calendar.apk, CalendarProvider.apk, and CalendarWidget.apk that are in /system/app with the ones that were included in the "Velocity-1.2.1-Patch-Signed" and now the Calendar displays correctly.

    I have not had any other issues with this, the phone is very fast and battery life is great.

    Thanks for the work on this.
     
  13. azuma73

    azuma73 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #360
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    339
    25
    63
    Forklift Operator, Chef
    Chambersburg, Pa.
    Right on!! I haven't picked up my old LG Velocity(ALLY) in months, let alone checked in on Android Forum since initial release of 1.2 and I find this action!!!
    Stoked man! Wiped, flashed #18, butter-smooth and all seems great, wifi is working nicely!!
    Am I supposed to be using ra gmn 2.2.2 or cwm 2.5.0.7 or other? Sorry to ask, but Ive been elsewhere for a while!?!?!
    Great job fellas, kudos once again!!:cool:

    ***Seems my scripts aren't workin' right from Terminal? Keeps saying "no such file or directory"??**
     
  14. j2cool2012

    j2cool2012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    487
    212
    68
    Android Dev and Tech Consult
    In the computer
    Amon_RA 3.0.6 is out, and it's nice. Flash this zip, and you'll have it.
     
    jaison80 and azuma73 like this.
  15. verizonuser13

    verizonuser13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    93
    12
    18
    What is Amonra_RA 3.0.6?? is that a kernel or what??
     
  16. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,376
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,376
    664
    213
    Male
    electronic repair/computer repair/ android!
    Pennsylvania

    Its a recovery
    Better than clockwork
     
    verizonuser13, jhcii and j2cool2012 like this.
  17. jhcii

    jhcii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    189
    22
    38
    Working my butt off
    Middle Georgia USA
    I've installed Velocity 1.2.2 beta 18 and a big bug that I've found today is in GPS. It's currently listing me at 0 degrees 0.002' N and 4095 degrees 13.066' E which when I pull up maps is located near the equator just off the West African coast (I'm located in middle Ga, Macon area to be exact). I'm not sure if it's rom related but it seems it's not passing the data correctly, I was thinking it had a couple of the variables backwards but that's not it. Could you look into this? I use my phone A lot in Geo Caching and use the Safe Neighborhood (sex offenders look up, yeah I got young kids). Haven't noticed any others yet, but will let you know if I do....
     
  18. PantherVT

    PantherVT Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    40
    4
    16
    I was having GPS accuracy issues as well but I recently updated Google maps and its been spot on ever since.
     
  19. jhcii

    jhcii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    189
    22
    38
    Working my butt off
    Middle Georgia USA

    Ok Found out the fix. Just started up GPS Status and then under tools hit manage a-gps state which cleared the A-GPS statistics and reloaded them. Works like a champ now.
     
  20. verizonuser13

    verizonuser13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    93
    12
    18
    Had no issues with the GPS so far. I still get a lot of Force closes on the ICS launcher though if that's still being worked on.
     
  21. jeb_hoge

    jeb_hoge Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    32
    3
    16
    Has anyone else seen that the text that goes with the Market progress bar in the notification shade is essentially the same color as the shade itself? I know there was a theme update for notification text, but I think that maybe it was incompletely applied. I never see the text that goes with the D/L progress bar.
     
  22. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I used beta 18 for a day and started having messenger text sending issues, did a clean install and didn't restore any data. I need a fully functioning phone for the next week so had to go back to velocity 1.2 for now, but will give it another try soon.
    I also noticed I wasn't able to connect to the velocity script server after updating unless I manually applied the velocity script 39 patch.

    Sorry if these issues have already been addressed, just haven't had time had time to keep up with things including this thread on here in the last couple of weeks.
     
  23. frugalally

    frugalally Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    How to fix the market "This app is incompatible with your LG Ally." Issue: switch back to default 240 LCD density, reboot, clear Market's data, log into Market. I have had no problem with the supposed "LCD density incompatibility" since subsequently switching back to 200 with any apps that were updated/installed.

    Script suggestion: if possible, give the option to keep build.prop's reported LCD density to default 240.
     
  24. xanderful

    xanderful Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    10
    2
    16
    I have been using this build for a few weeks now. I originally was using just the stock ROM. I am really likeing it, I love the speed and the freedom actually install as many things as I would like. I was wondering if there were going to be anymore updates though?

    When I boot up the phone ICS almost always crashes, its fine though force close and everything will work fine. I have not seen any incompatibility with all of the apps I have put on the phone (first android phone I have installed A LOT OF APPS). Groove IP and Text plus seem a lil screwy with reboots and stuff, but I think that may be the apps themselves.

    I run the phone overclocked almost all of the time, I was running around 800 MHz but it was pretty unstable, clocked it down to 748 MHz and it was very nice. I also have your sweet startup sound on and it works great.

    I think the only real problems I have seen actually are when I pull out the sd card, sometimes the phone will reboot and when I unistall or change permissions on some of the apps, the phone would reboot. But I have delt with worse from phones so though it is an issue, it is livable. I was able to dial out and recieve text messages so the critical stuff works great!!

    just my two cents.....
     
  25. yubarunner

    yubarunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Try using another launcher. I have been using ADW and have had no issues when booting up. The ICS launcher is the only issue I have had and have been using the latest version for a couple of weeks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...