• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[Verizon] Do you guys overclock, etc. (AOKP)?

Dabitz

Android Enthusiast
Sep 17, 2010
NJ
I see the options to increase processor speed but I am afraid I might fry my phone. Do you guys use that option and what can I expect if I do this (other than less battery life)? I flashed the latest AOKP build 36, w LeanKernel 3.6.0 with the latest FC04 radios. I'm still learning so be patient with me. Max CPU has the option to overclock to 1350mgz. I could swear with the default Kernel for AOKP you could go even faster. Also, do you change the scaling governor and/or voltage control?

Just looking for those customizations that would take me to the next step. Even installed a theme and enjoying my phone... Take that Verizon!!!

Thanks for the help. :thumbup:

Attachments

• Screenshot_2012-05-16-15-34-32.png
    Screenshot_2012-05-16-15-34-32.png
    427.4 KB · Views: 99
Reactions: jbdan
If you're a heavy gamer on the phone and like to run benchmarks, you might enjoy OC'ing the phone. Otherwise the GN is so fast already I don't think it is necessary or worth it imo.

Do you find your phone lacking in speed or responsiveness at all? You can change the governor freely. The general consensus is that the InteractiveX or Interactive governors are typically the best overall performers. Although governor and tweaked kernel settings are user, phone, and kernel dependent.

With increased CPU speeds often comes increased heat, and sometimes increased mV's (voltages), although the latter not as much. With heat comes the shortening of electronic components lifespan.

A lot of people underclock (including me) as it runs cooler and gives a little extra battery life. Plus, I can't tell any difference what-so-ever from a ~200MHz drop in CPU frequency.

So tell us....what do you want different from how it runs now :)

Upvote 0