1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] [rom]jbsourcery v5.4-lte[06/07/13] jb4.2.2 The Final Call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tdevaughn, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. z0mb13m4n

    z0mb13m4n Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    289
    40
    43
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    Just did a clean install and then did the zebra apps, and I don't have the play store. So I redid the zebra apps install, and still don't have the store. Any ideas on what I need to do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    Make sure you select Playstore as either black or transparent
     
    z0mb13m4n likes this.
  3. z0mb13m4n

    z0mb13m4n Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    289
    40
    43
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    Thanks, that was the problem.
     
  4. ryknow216

    ryknow216 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 1, 2013

    May 1, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Hey guys. I'm new here and I'm having a problem with my Google voice texting on jbsourcery v5.2. I use handcent to send texts and when I click on the little microphone icon to voice text, nothing happens. Thought it may have been Google voice and when i went to update it from the play store, it said package wasn't signed correctly. I installed the Zebra Gapps as well so maybe it has something to do with that. Does anyone have a solution? Thank you!!
     
  5. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    232
    165
    68
    yeah the magic shortcuts named to go with our theme is taken from aokp that i believe was ported in portion with additions from chameleon os. It is pretty darn cool stuff.


    yeah sorry but LG is my enemy. love their tv's and i hate to do it but i have to buy there tv's theres just not a better option for me.
    But i bought their G2x and they lied and lied until it was past date to return it they made promises they did not keep and continued to lie about it. their mobile department and support are scum of the earth!!!!!!!!!!!

    and there for i will never purchase nor support a lg device.

    Not sure what the flak regarding aokp was i surely never said anything negative as they have some great dev there and we use alot of their stuff.

    There are some awesome roms out there.

    If someone cant find one that suits them than they cant be Pleased cause there is something for everyone for sure.



    Oh and chief.... I believe i found your wifi rebooting issue.
    there appeared to be a problem in source with ip6 addresses that caused reboots jsut as you described i have put in a fix for that. But im thinking that somehow it was a ipv6 error as what was described in the patch is exactly what you had described as happening that time.


    also the nav bar isnt gone. its still the default option.
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  6. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Getting some random SystemUI crashes here and there, haven't narrowed out the culprit yet. Just random from what it seems, never the same app, so...not sure. Was a clean wipe/flash, but I might try to do another reload, with minimal app load (if there's even less than I have now lol), and see if it persists. Did have a BT call come in this morning, and answering the phone never kicked the BT on. Was weird, but might be a fluke. Still haven't got the hang of all the goodies :)
     
  7. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    handcent has had issues on 4.2 roms. Try it with the stock messenger
     
  8. ryknow216

    ryknow216 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 1, 2013

    May 1, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Stock messenger won't work either for voice text. Weird.
     
  9. z0mb13m4n

    z0mb13m4n Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    289
    40
    43
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    Mms won't send on either wifi or 3g/4g. Tried the fix in Sourcery but still no good. Using GoSms pro is working though. Any idea for a fix?
     
  10. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Weird. Will it send through the stock messaging app at all? I've had no issues sending MMS through Go SMS since 5.2. I remember in the past though, Go would give me issues, but the stock would send fine. It eventually resolved itself after a few updates and ROMS, so I never did figure out what caused it then, but it's worth a shot to try, if you haven't yet.
     
  11. SecondShot

    SecondShot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    269
    89
    53
    Washington DC

    Same thing here. Random System UI crashes on 522.
     
  12. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Bad news on my end this morning. Around 5 AM, I heard my phone vibrate once. Picked it up, was off. So, I tried to turn it on, nothing. That's when I smelled the burning...port was charred. Tried to clean it off as best as I could in hopes of saving it, took it to my car charger, poof, wisp of smoke and burning smell again. Port's fried. So now I'm in the process of clearing it out, sadly not enough battery power to transfer any good backups over to Dropbox, so aside from a couple pictures, I'm just gonna wipe it, reset it, and see what I can do. Not sure what happened, but it was a slightly older charger, so...who knows. Chalking it up as a fluke thing, and....we'll see what happens. Rep on the phone assured me that I'd get it replaced in store, even after I questioned him on it (since a year ago when I worked as an agent, we were told stores would NOT replace devices, they had to be mailed.). So...yep. Not the way I wanted to start today.
     
  13. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Oh, I did notice last night, that it seems to happen when I've got something open (maps, music, etc), and flip the phone from landscape to portrait or back and forth. Just random info.
     
  14. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    Can you get a logcat of that?
     
  15. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    I can't at the moment, due to my phone being....broken :( lol But if it happens on the new one when I get it, I'll try to :)
     
  16. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    What happened to it? Hate hearing your bad news
     
  17. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Charging port burnt up early this morning. I heard it go "bzzt" and vibrate, figured it was an alert, picked up my phone, it was off, and then I noticed it was very warm, and started to smell burning. Port is half melted, in the phone, and the port and end of my charger are all blackened. No idea what happened, charger cord isn't damaged physically, so I dunno.

    On that note though, I did post a new thread with a question about how to return this thing to as close a stock state as I can, without the ability to plug it into a computer. Any thoughts? lol. Just for when I send this one back. Probably won't matter anyway, since they can argue that it's physical damage even through no fault of my own, and charge me the replacement regardless. But either way, I want to try to eliminate as many reasons for them to complain as I can.
     
  18. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    Look for wireless adb. Have seen others mention that in the past
     
  19. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Aight, will look into that more when I get the new one tomorrow. I just miss my phone lol
     
  20. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Okay, this is getting infuriating.

    I have clean flashed 5.2.2, flashed Zebra, and no Play services. I went back into Recovery, flashed Zebra AGAIN, and no Play services.

    :mad:

    Folks, I need a working phone here. Please advise how to best get all my Play services back. It comes up with a warning saying "Get Google Play Services" but when I select it, nothing happens. If I can't get this thing working soon, I'll have to nandroid back.
     
  21. tdevaughn

    tdevaughn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    1,007
    395
    163
    Statesville NC
    make sure playstore is checked when you flash zebra
     
  22. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I did. The white version.

    Then I just scrolled up and read that only the black and transparent versions work... :rolleyes:

    Let's try this again...


    EDIT
    : Okay, I have Play services... I don't have SIGNAL. Wifi all day, but no 4G.

    EDIT 2: CORRECTION... I do not have wifi data download capability. I tried to update my apps and they errored all over the place!

    EDIT 3: I'm trying this clean flash ONE LAST TIME. Gonna use Superwipe and nuke it again...

    EDIT 4: Nuked and restoring. Everything appears to be running well now, except BT keeps dropping out. I may have to flash the 4.1 binaries. Otherwise, setup continues. THEN I'll explore and play around :)
     
  23. TritonDroid

    TritonDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    194
    27
    43
    Try tiny kernel switched to that after the light flow issues. I saw where he added the BT fix in one of his kernel builds.

    Might be worth a try...
     
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    After having some issues here and there, I am currently on 5.2 with Lean 6.2 exp1-180. Had to flash the bluetooth fix and the Alt inverted MMS mod both located in JB tools. Sounds like only a couple of us have had an issue wtih the latter, but just saying what's been working for me. Smooth as can be right now. :smokingsomb:
     
  25. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    5.2 is working well for me. I didn't install Zebra though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...