1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Phone in screwed up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jrccomputer, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    My phone is screwed up!! After backup the phone up using Philz!! I installed a custom ROM!! Then I restored my phone, using Philz!! Problem is my phone wont let me write to the phone 16GBs of storage!! In ES file explorer it comes up "legacy" instead of "0". I really need help with this!!

    Thank you so much!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. vsanch24

    vsanch24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    172
    36
    53
    Male
    Mid-Michigan, USA
    If all else fails, you may have to start fresh by using Knoxed Keis Files

    Just seems as if there is some sort of permissions issue though
     
  3. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    Any ideas on how to fix it??
     
  4. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    When your in your ROM, your phone has a "emulated" section and its creates a "0" and a "legacy" section, as you probably know. For me, both the "0" and 'legacy" have the same exact files as my normal SD Card has (non-emulated section). I believe "0" and "legacy" are essentially the same thing.

    So, what exactly is your problem? Are your files missing? Can you go to the "0" section? (If you go up a level you should see "0" and "legacy" inside of the "emulated" folder)

    Also, try using a different explorer such as, Root Explorer. If the issue still exists then it most likely is your ROM. If its possible, flash a newer version of your ROM. (i.e. CM11 Nighties) You can try doing a clean flash to see if the issues still exists. If it does, then its ROM.
     
  5. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN


    We are on stock rom 100% stock, no root nothing!! And the bigger problem is I cannot write anything to the internal memory of the phone!!

    If I open chrome and attempt to download anything it fails right away!! I cant use any app that rights to it like mp3edit!!!

    And this all happened since restoring from Philz backup
     
  6. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    If you're not on a custom ROM then you should not be writing to "legacy" at all. You should just be writing to sdcard0 (or whatever you internal memory is called).

    When you use "legacy" or "0" you're normally on a custom ROM and your sdcard0 should be "blank/empty". Like I said if you're not on a custom ROM then you should be writing to sdcard0. That may be your problem.

    I have never had this issue myself so, my advice would be to do a clean flash and see if that works. (Assuming you have a custom recovery)
     
  7. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    Yes, I got Philz!! And a backup, but the backup create this mess in the first place!!
     
  8. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    A backup normally doesn't create any issues since all it does is backup what you had set.

    Have you tried changing the path to sdcard0 instead of legacy? If that doesn't work then, I would recommend you do a clean flash. Or you could try a different backup as well, to see if it was just that one backup that had an error.
     
  9. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    I going to backup just the "Data" partition and then restore the phone to stock!! Then restore the "Data" partition!!

    Cause I have a million apps and contacts and such!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...