1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

voice input problems?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aparis99, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. aparis99

    aparis99 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    PC Technician
    KY
    I really like the voice input feature pretty much anywhere typing is involved. But, I only use it for long SMS's. BUT, it only seems to work up to a certain time limit. 1 or 2 sentences and it works fine. Anymore than like 5 seconds it says "Processing..." then "Unable to reach server"

    any ideas?

    Also, is there anywhere I can find out all about the voice input features and commands I can use etc?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    Sort of along these same lines, how do you enable the voice input for e-mail? Also, I can't figure out why there seems to be a microphone shown on one of the keyboard keys, yet is for keyboard language?
     
  3. aparis99

    aparis99 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    PC Technician
    KY
    Anytime the keyboard is up, just hit and HOLD that microphone key until the microphone pops up... let go and there u go
     
    kb58 likes this.
  4. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    My Android world just keeps getting bigger every day - thanks!
     
  5. Dan1942

    Dan1942 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    39
    2
    36
    I figured out the hold mike key isue, but am still trying to figure out how the voice dialers are supposed to work - it's fine for SMS texts, but erratic for locating people, etc. What distinguishes the "voice dialer" app from the "voice search" app?
     
  6. aparis99

    aparis99 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    PC Technician
    KY
    FOUND THE ANSWER:

    "The limit for one batch is about 15 words. You can push "Add more" as many times as you like to collect dictation, but each time the "Speak now" dialog comes up, you should limit what you say to a small number of words."
     
  7. Dan1942

    Dan1942 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    39
    2
    36
    where did you find the answer?
     

Share This Page

Loading...