• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What backup is necessary?

HTC Hero, Sprint CDMA. 2.1 and .7 update. I was able to root using z4root. I'm new to rooting so I have a couple of questions. I'm NOT going be flashing a new ROM. My only needs were to delete some bloatware and to do wireless tether. After root, I did a backup using Titanium Backup. Should I also do a Nandroid backup or am I in good shape with what I have? z4root takes up 22mb of scarce memory. Can I delete it now that I'm rooted or is it necessary/advisable to keep it? I'm hoping I can simply download and install it again should I need to unroot. FWIW, z4root worked but it wasn't a flawless process. It took a couple of runs and two manual reboots to get everything working properly. But, it did eventually work and it didn't brick my phone, so I give it a thumbs up. Thanks!

Yes you do, flash the recovery first, then do a Nandroid for safe keeping, then you can play with the apps you want to remove, keep in mind before you remove any apps make sure they are not apps that are needed, such as Gtalk etc... As for the root app, I would keep it incase you want to unroot, or you can find the apk file and keep that on your PC, so this way if they ever stop supporting that app, would can always manually install it back on your phone if need be, and also use titanium backup to uninstall the apps you want

You can download the apk from here and save it for safe keeping incase they ever take it out of the market, [APP] z4root - xda-developers