1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Whats safe?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skittlesV1, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    I installed the new fresh kernel and it can run the processor as low as 128 or as high as 1152 but is that safe? I don't want my phone to melt or not get enough power. Pda what's a good app to test fps?

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement

  2. chrismmm

    chrismmm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    66
    5
    36
    IT
    North Georgia
    what applications and services are you running? if you overclock your cpu ..people normally do that to achieve better performance while running cpu bound applications..what are you trying to achieve or use the overclocking for? once that is determined you can use the overclocking to decide whether or not its worth the risk of overheating..most cpus will shutdown before they overheat..just sayin..
     
  3. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    I just want a little less system lag mainly. And to save battery with my processor going slower but is 128 fast enough?
     
  4. chrismmm

    chrismmm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    66
    5
    36
    IT
    North Georgia
    wow. thats a severe trade off for performance. i would offer..find a happy median between performance and batt life..lets see if someone else responds with better intel.
     
  5. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,344
    553
    213
    create profiles with setcpu. if you are using fresh, flipz says that it doesn't seem to work above 1.15 ghz

    i have two profiles:

    screen off, throttle down to 250
    charging, throttle up to 1.15

    otherwise, i have it set to 'ondemand' between 250 and 1.15
     
  6. Cache22

    Cache22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    I have found the same thing, anything over 1.15 causes problems, but 1.15 works perfectly. (Also using Fresh, v1.0.1, can't speak for other ROMs)

    Also, for more details on using SetCPU with profiles, check out this thread:

    [ROOT] Using SetCPU + Perflock Disabler to Save Battery, Underclock - xda-developers

    Since setting up SetCPU and overclocking, I have seen a definite increase in both performance and battery life by tweaking the profiles to work best with my usage and charging patterns.

    Edit: Also, I have the minimum clock speeds for the different profiles all set to 245. when I started with a 128 minimum I had some random problems crop up, and it seems other people have had issues at 128 as well.
     
  7. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,344
    553
    213
  8. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    210
    19
    58
    Photojournalist
    So Cal
    As of right now 1.0.1 is only available to donors or testers. Flipz mentioned in his email that it will either be released tonight or tomorrow. So look for it in the updater later tonight or tomorrow.
     
  9. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,344
    553
    213
    im a donor :) i downloaded it to my PC but would rather use the updater. its big at 126ish megs
     
  10. Cache22

    Cache22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Might be a little late since it looks like it is on the updater now, but I didn't use the updater. I just copied it over to the sd card, then booted into recovery (power + volume down) and applied update from the .zip.
     
  11. skittlesV1

    skittlesV1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    its public now. Im upgrading, hopefully it can fix some lag, can you still use the same kernels from the fresh updater?
     
  12. habitual.line.stepper

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    56
    9
    16

    i ran a full day with 652mhz as the ondemand speed with screen on and 245mhz for when the screen was off, Phone still ran really smooth with no hiccups and the battery live was amazing, even with heavy use
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...