1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

where is google earth?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by morgan_allstar, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. morgan_allstar

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    i manually updated to 2.1 and can't find google earth anywhere? where it be?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    768
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    768
    48
    68
    Cleveland, Ohio
    If you're smart, this bloatware isn't on your phone! It's over 22mb after installed. If you want it, it's in the marketplace. I installed it to try it and play around with it and it's fun, just not too useful. I uninstalled it after I had my fun.
     
  3. P-Droid

    P-Droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    This may sound stupid but you might want to check your slide tray or whatever they call it and look for Earth. I was looking for Google Earth before and it was driving me nuts.:D
     
  4. Phoenixdroid

    Phoenixdroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    49
    0
    15
    I don't see it in the market. Only thing is google earth blog and GPS2Google Earth, so I guess I'm missing something?
     
  5. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    Yeap you will find it under earth in your drawer. I do not see the need for it because you have to draw dataa for it to work and you get sat. view with google nav..Now Mapdroyd is great because it works offline with GPS when no data is available. Its a base map but better than nothing.
     
  6. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    I shoe-horned it onto my 2.0.1 Droid. I guess I had better take it off before the OTA hits me so that I'll have the corrrect one when I update it.

    I am curious to see if the official version also uses the 3D layer.
     
  7. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    It doesn't (I'm assuming you mean 3D Buildings)

    Google Earth is a neat toy but Maps is far more useful.
     
  8. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    768
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    768
    48
    68
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I posted this in another thread:

    I got mine the day after launch and it worked a few days ago.

    HOWEVER, just out of curiosity I checked again and it's not there anymore :thinking: Weird!!!! I promise, I used to have it! I downloaded it right after I updated my phone, and quickly uninstalled it.
     
  9. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    Well if they didn't put the buildings in it, they needed to take it down. You are off the cookie list, BlueIce because you reminded me that I had the 2.0.1 version, so I uninstalled it in preparation for 2.1 and now it is gone.

    Just teasing, it is my own fault for not backing it up and besides, it will be so long before I make cookies again that I will forget about this anyway.
     
  10. gbarker6677

    gbarker6677 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    20
    4
    16

    go to m.google.com/earth and you can send it to your phone.
     
    mystereon and 3devious like this.
  11. MicroNix

    MicroNix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    472
    37
    63
    People here weren't lying though...that app is extremely bloated. If you want to consume over 22mb of precious space for something marginally usable (and I say that because the built in maps are far more useful) then go ahead. I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  12. atom631

    atom631 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    Yeah I'm really disappointed with the Droid version of Google earth. I use Google earth all day for work...and I discovered the iPhone version and its ability to import kml files from maps.Google.com, I flipped. To have my entire fiber network on my cell phone? Amazing!

    So I was pretty psyched when I heard about Google earth for Droid. Then I realized it was missing the most important feature, imported layers...so I deleted it. Ah well, ill be keeping my eye out for an update.
     
  13. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I installed it again recently to take another look at it, and it ran terribly on my phone...would eventually pretty much lock up. Previously it ran pretty well, not sure what's gone wrong...
     
  14. drathos

    drathos Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Force closes the market when I try to do that.

    Honestly, I just wanted to install it to try it out and was most likely going to remove it shortly after, but it still sucks that I can't even install it.
     
  15. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Really it was designed for the Nexus One. If you are overclocked it runs a lot more smoothly.
     
  16. Lunchbox88

    Lunchbox88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    I have 2.1 and when I try to install it via m.google.com/earth, its freezes then force closes the market... I waited for the OTA I did not force 2.1
     
  17. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Weird problems with the Droid like this make me sad :(

    If going with the standard OS updates from Verizon is worse in EVERY conceivable way, it should at least be more stable and bug free, but it's not.

    I love being rooted, overclocked, running a custom ROM etc but that is not the experience of the vast majority of people (who don't root).
     
  18. Cruzatte

    Cruzatte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    82
    4
    16
    Law Student
    Atlanta, GA
    I have the same problem with the browser/market freeze, though I did force 2.1. I can't find Earth in a market search, and it's not anywhere in my slide tray or app list. Frustrating--even if it's a pointless app, I want the damn thing.
     
  19. caustic

    caustic Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It contrast to what everyone here is saying, Google Earth works great and really smoothly on my Droid. Really, I'm shocked, considering the rest of the phone slowed down a bit once I got 2.1
     
  20. snapcase

    snapcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    449
    69
    53
    Same thing happens to me. Try to load the page and it hangs for a minute, then says market crashed and leaves me at a black screen. Not on the market when searching either.

    I got impatient and did a force update, and the only new icon in my app tray is the news/weather one.
     
  21. Djanvk

    Djanvk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    30
    2
    16
    Illinois
    On the website
    www.google.com/mobile/earth/

    it does says it's available for the iPhone and Nexus, also coming soon to the motorola droid.

    So maybe that's why it won't let us install it from the website.

    Just a thought.
     
  22. Cruzatte

    Cruzatte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    82
    4
    16
    Law Student
    Atlanta, GA
    Bet you're right. Still a mystery to me why it's not in the Market, though (or autoloaded with the update, as some people are apparently reporting).
     
  23. tomlouie

    tomlouie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    4
    7
    6
    After I did a factory reset of my 2.1 Droid, I was able to find Google Earth in Market.
     
  24. Haelous

    Haelous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    282
    111
    68
    Network Administrator
    NJ
    Looks like the Google Earth site now says -

    but when I go to the site I get an FC for the market and then a black screen.

    I rebooted my phone but still had the same thing happen. I still cannot see Google Earth in the market.
     
  25. Cat4699

    Cat4699 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    4
    3
    6
    I just got my 2.1 update today and am having the same FC issue when I try to go to the earth site. Also, no earth app in my drawer either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...