1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Whoops, that was a data backup, not an app backup...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YankeeDudeL, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Here's the deal: I DLed Titanium Backup, but it wasn't obtaining root access. I read here that I probably need to update to a newer version of BB. After a bit of a fight, I finally managed to get BB 0.4 onto my Droid. I figured I was safe b/c I have Lookout, which also backs up data. Yeah, it backs up contacts and pix, that's it. So here I am w/ a nice, shiny new rom, and a completely wiped phone.

    Now, I know my old info is still there. I know I could just recover into my last version. But then I wouldn't be on this rom. Is there any way for me to get that info on here, or do I have to do everything manual? Or could I restore the old version, and not need to do a wipe when flashing the new rom?

    Man, no matter what I good I start to feel about myself w/ what I've already learned from you guys, I'm quickly reminded that I'm barely scratching the surface.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Good question - I forcibly screwed myself out of a lot of data (not that it is really worth much to me, all the important things like contacts calendar events etc are all synced) when I decided to try out the BB 2.1/0.3 ...

    I thought I was deleting old Nandroid backups - took my current one right along with it lol

    So, I am curious to know this answer as well.
     
  3. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Would doing an advanced Nandroid restore and only restoring the Data partition work?
     
  4. cebomholt

    cebomholt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    Had a very similar issue this morning. I can confirm the above worked for me... Would have liked to do titanium restore to selectively miss a few apps I no longer use, but it was failing on its restore process.
    Did a nandroid restore only on data, seems to be so far so good.

    Hope it helps-
     

Share This Page

Loading...