1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why doesn't Google port over Chrome to Android?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Cudda, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. Cudda

    Cudda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    121
    10
    38
    Sound Editor
    Toronto, Ontario
    Really now, why does this even have to be asked?

    Instead, we get some generic browser that's nowhere near the quality of other 3rd party Android browsers, let alone Chrome for PC/Mac.

    Isn't it a no brainer for Chrome to be the leading/default browser for Android? I just can't understand the reasoning for Google not porting it over.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bang Bang Boom

    Bang Bang Boom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    206
    10
    38
    I agree and have it work with the market...

    I do like my browser tho has it has full flash 10.1 ;)
     
  3. Copleo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    315
    19
    38
    Sodom & Gomorra
    Why doesn't Google port over Chrome to Android?

    Because Google doesn't want us to use stand-alone applications but does want to suck all of us up in their cloud.
     
  4. Cudda

    Cudda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    121
    10
    38
    Sound Editor
    Toronto, Ontario
    Having a hard time trying to understand what you're saying here..
     
  5. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    Getting ready to buy an Android (have a Palm Pre right now). Up until now I thought the default Android browser is Chrome. If it's not, who makes the default browser?
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Pretty much anything's a no brainer when you aren't aware of the details. Porting isn't a simple task. You can't just click a button and port any desktop app over. There are a lot of considerations to factor in. Mobile devices are very different from desktops and laptops.
     
  7. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    Google makes the default browser. It just isn't called "Browser".
     
  8. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    The stock browser IS Chrome. It uses the same webkit, the same javascript engine (Optimized for mobile), etc.

    It just has a very stripped down UI, for good reasons. To allow for more innovation. Most people are happy with a stripped down mobile browser. And, if you are not, you can easily replace it.
     
  9. Cudda

    Cudda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    121
    10
    38
    Sound Editor
    Toronto, Ontario
    I know it's probably not SIMPLE, but you'd think that this would be one of their priorities when developing Android. Chrome has a huge userbase and is still growing. It's also about using their own services and applications. Why wouldn't you?

    Why does the UI need to be stripped down. Ok, so you say it IS Chrome, just not named so. Why isn't it named Chrome then? There are plenty of features in the desktop app that are missing here, most notably for me, tabbed browsing, which Chrome for PC does very well. I know there are alternates, but it's a matter of wanting to use first party software whenever I can.
     
  10. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    The stock browser (at least on my Epic) lets you open new windows. Same thing as having multiple tabs open...
     
  11. Cudda

    Cudda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    121
    10
    38
    Sound Editor
    Toronto, Ontario
    Yes, it allows windows, however tabs is much easier and faster to work with. Do you use windows when browsing on your home PC?
     
  12. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    Oh, I guess you mean have the tabs show up on the screen itself without having to go to Menu --> Windows? Yeah, that would be more convenient.
     
  13. dawankler

    dawankler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    102
    17
    38
    Yes, because Alt+Tab to switch between multiple screens is easier in the mixed work I'm typically doing instead of Alt+Tab to go back to browser and then Ctrl+Tab to switch to a new tab, then back to Alt+Tab to switch to a new window. Multiple windows also allows quicker and easier switching directly from the task bar. With dual 24" widescreen monitors I could care less if it takes up more real estate that way.

    I would HATE tabs on my mobile browser. Screen real estate, ease of use and readability are of the utmost importance when it comes to mobile devices. A zero border browser helps cut down on zoom and scrolling, giving you more screen to work with. Using the window switcher mode also allows multiple tabs/windows to be presented in a large, easy to read format with a much bigger clickable target for switching.
     
  14. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    I agree, I think google is more concern with building the best possible framework/api/services for developers to develop on than creating the best apps themselves for android. I'm sure if they want to create a full feature chrome browser for android, they can. But why waste time and resources in developing the app, when the point of android is to provide tools for developers to develop apps that are full featured and innovative.
     

Share This Page

Loading...