1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wi-fi Error

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    When I click on the wifi icon on the pull down menu, my phone usually connects to whatever network I have saved.
    Starting last week, when I click on it to turn on the wifi, it will either (very seldom) connect without an issue, or attempt to connect and then just turn off the wifi again.
    If I open up the settings and attempt to turn on wifi that way, it will just say Error. It will usually say Connected or Not Connected.
    I haven't installed any new apps in over a month.
    I googled it and tried a few fixes:
    • Turn off and back on.
    • Download Wi-fi Fixer app. (DL'ed, but all it seems to do is show the status of the wifi, not actually do anything.)
    • Dial *#*#526#*#* to reload the driver (when I put in the final asterisk, it closes the dial screen but nothing happens. It should say something down the lines of "Driver loaded successfully")
    Not sure what to do next besides factory reset.
    My phone is an HTC E9+ Dual SIM running Android 5.0.2. It is un-rooted, however I have no problem with rooting if it will fix this issue. I'm a bit reluctant to factory reset, as I can't connect to the internet (wifi is broken, I don't have 3G) so backup will be difficult.
     

    Advertisement

  2. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Does this happen everywhere or just at home?

    Have you tried :
    Forget the network on your phone
    Reboot the router
    Rescan and connect with your phone
     
  3. crybllrd

    crybllrd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    12
    1
    16
    Just to reiterate, my Wifi won't turn on. On the rare case that it will turn on, it can see/connect to networks as usual.
    My issue is that the Wifi says "Error" when attempting to turn it on.
     
  4. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Sorry, I wrongly read it to mean that it turned on and straight off again..

    Have you tried the code dialled from both SIM slots?
     
  5. crybllrd

    crybllrd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    12
    1
    16
    I only have one SIM in.

    I just tried a factory data reset, still doesn't work.

    I'm thinking it is a hardware issue.
     
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,945
    2,943
    608
    Illinois
    Have you tried rebooting your M9 into Safe Mode and seeing if enabling WiFi is still a problem? On the chance it does work OK in Safe Mode since you mentioned the problem started about a week ago can you think of anything that you might have installed around that time period?
     
  7. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    I meant try the command with the dialer from the other SIM slot - just a thought.
     
  8. crybllrd

    crybllrd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    12
    1
    16
    Wifi works in Safe Mode!

    I did a reset this afternoon on my phone, and it didn't fix the wifi.

    That deleted all my apps and reset all settings.

    How do I proceed?
     
  9. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,945
    2,943
    608
    Illinois
    Nuts, that's kind of contrary to how it should be. Well at least that more than likely rules out a hardware failure issue. With your phone running in it's typical, normal mode try digging through your Settings >> Application manager. Not just in the 'Downloaded' section but also the 'Running' and 'All' sections. Does anything look out of sorts? Also double-check your Settings >> Connections >> WiFi menu options for anything that might indicate a change since last week.
     
  10. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,945
    2,943
    608
    Illinois
    Oops, I just re-read your original posting and you did mention you haven't installed anything in over a month. Sorry. That does make it even more odd that WiFi is working in Safe Mode only.
    Have you tried connecting to any other WiFi network other than your home network since this problem started happening?
     
  11. crybllrd

    crybllrd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    12
    1
    16
    When I went back to Normal Mode, Wifi seems to be working. Before, if I could get it to work, it'd only work for about 30 seconds to a minute.
    I'm going on 30 minutes now and it's working.
    I had read elsewhere that I needed to reload the Wifi driver by using that code i posted in the thread-opener, but couldn't get it to work.
    Maybe Safe Mode reloaded the drivers?
    Anyway, it seems to be working. I will post back if it stops again.
    Thanks a lot for your time!
     
    svim likes this.
  12. crybllrd

    crybllrd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    12
    1
    16
    Well, Wifi is out again...
    This is becoming extremely frustrating.
     
  13. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,945
    2,943
    608
    Illinois
    Ugh, so this is a long shot but have you powered off and restarted your wireless router? From what you've described it would seem this is centered on your phone but just in case it's something related to the wireless signal that's feeding your phone is triggering some kind of problem.
     
    tube517 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...