1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support WiFi Hotspot: "No Internet"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tom98168, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. Tom98168

    Tom98168 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Technical Writer
    Seattle
    I've been trying to bring up the WiFi Hotspot on my Exhibit II but get "no internet" reports from the connecting device.

    I follow the book procedure to activate the hotspot:

    1. Turn WiFi off

    2. Make sure the data network is activated: Settings > Wireless and Network > Mobile Networks > Use Packet Data (checked)

    3. Turn on the hotspot: Settings > Wireless and Network > Tethering and Portable Hotspot > Portable WiFi Hotspot Settings. Set the hotspot SSID name and security. (Tried both WPA & Open with no luck)

    I can see the hotspot with my laptop and connect to it, but the connection reports "no internet." My laptop's WiFi troubleshooting utility reported that the hotspot had no DNS available. My guess is that the hotspot's DHCP server is either missing or inactive, and that the hotspot isn't issuing IP's to connecting devices.

    Does anyone have a fix for this problem?

    BTW: my network connection is T-Mobile 4G.

    Many thanks in advance!

    Tom in Seattle
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mitchell99

    Mitchell99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    This phone comes with a tether manager that prevents tethering unless you buy the plan from tmo. Root your phone (guide in all things root, and its very easy) then uninstall with titanium backup. Now you're good to go. I've tethered my phone to my Xoom and my daughters iPod touch with no problems.
     
  3. Tom98168

    Tom98168 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Technical Writer
    Seattle
    Thank you, Mitchell. I was afraid that might be the case (a T-Mobile lockout). It's nice to know that there's a relatively simple solution. Well, relatively simple, that is, if I ever get the courage to root my phone! :)


    Best,

    Tom
     
  4. hotsauce126

    hotsauce126 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    7
    5
    6
  5. MNNDguy

    MNNDguy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I downloaded Titanium pro last night then FROZE the pre-installed "tethering manger", then downloaded for free from the Android App store "Quick wifi hotspot lite" and it's a couple clicks from there. Super fast I got 7mps speeds so i could use my ipad with the Exhibit II as the hotspot
     
    Tom98168 likes this.
  6. Tom98168

    Tom98168 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Technical Writer
    Seattle
    Wow! I just tried this, and it works!

    I haven't given it a thorough test to see if there are any unwanted side effects on either my laptop or phone, but on the surface, it works. I can start and shut down USB tethering. At a first glance, it looks like this is a simple solution for some quick Internet connectivity when you and your laptop are out of WiFi range.

    A few of notes: As directed, I set my phone for USB debugging. And during the PC installation process, I didn't download the adb drivers, since I was already able to connect to my phone over the USB cable to download music and such. And it took a couple of tries, clicking Tether's Start and Stop buttons on my laptop, before the tethering operation started. But once it started, it seems that I can start and stop tethering cleanly on the first try every time. So if it doesn't work for you at first, give it another try or two.

    Many thanks for this information! This routine does, indeed, provide the Internet connectivity I need without having to root my phone. (I might want to root it later for other reasons, but now I can defer that decision.)

    Nice find!

    Tom
     
  7. olc

    olc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    Once rooted and rid of Tmo's tether manager, do you need another app to make the hotspot functional, or can you just change the settings and go?

    A newbie needs to know:)
     
  8. Tom98168

    Tom98168 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Technical Writer
    Seattle
    Well, since I got brave and rooted my phone last night, I now consider myself an expert, able to answer your question. :)

    I was able to bring up my hotspot by simply giving it a name, setting security, and turning on the hotspot. No other software required.

    Have fun!

    Tom

    (Not really an expert :) )
     
  9. msaeger

    msaeger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    73
    1
    16
    Freezing tmobile's tethering manager worked for me thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...