1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WiFi Not in range.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by sheriffjoe, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. sheriffjoe

    sheriffjoe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    23
    1
    36
    Birmingham UK
    Hello,
    I'm sat here typing this on my laptop connected to my router by WiFi. 2 inches away is my Samsung Galaxy Ace which is telling me Sky ????? Not in Range, connected with WPA/WPA2. It is almost impossible to get WiFi on my phone. It connects then almost immediately loses connection and I get the above message.

    Please help but nothing technical - I'm very old. Many thanks.

    PS just added SKY?????? secured with WEP and get the same.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,887
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,887
    1,050
    423
    Dumb question, but is SKY?????? the same WiFi network that your laptop is connected to?
     
  3. sheriffjoe

    sheriffjoe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    23
    1
    36
    Birmingham UK
  4. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,822
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,822
    3,411
    923
    have you tried to reboot your router??

    if so.. tell us more about the router.. name, brand, model, and age?
     
    sheriffjoe likes this.
  5. viv1610

    viv1610 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    16
    2
    36
    Female
    I ran into the same issue with my phone (getting the "out of range" message) while sitting at home and my daughter told me to reboot my phone. That seemed to fix it. Give that a shot if you haven't already. :)
     
    sheriffjoe likes this.
  6. sheriffjoe

    sheriffjoe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    23
    1
    36
    Birmingham UK
    Thanks. That seems to have sorted it.

    Thanks for other suggestions too.
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,822
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,822
    3,411
    923
    that is funny... we assumed that would be one of the first things you try.

    reboot your sys.. to confirm it is a lasting problem. 3-finger salute, from PC trouble shooting practice
     
  8. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Glad you found the solution to your problem.

    Typically issues can arise on your phone by certain applications not shutting down correctly or simply just problems arising within the Android OS.

    A reboot of your device will generally solve these minor issues :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...