3g and wifi.Support


Last Updated:

  1. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88
    If anyone here uses wifi, does your 3g stay connected while wifi is on? I know when wifi is on, the phone will use it for data. I mean up in the notification bar does it show the wifi icon, and the 3g icon for anyone here? Also in settings when you go to about phone then to status, under "Mobile network state" does it still say "connected" when you have 3g on.



    The reason why I ask this is because since I've had my Fascinate, when wifi is on, "mobile network state" is disconnected, and I only have the wifi icon in the notification bar at the top. However as of 10 mins ago when I put wifi on, the 3g icon is still on up at the top, and under status "mobile network state" is staying connected.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    My wifi and 3g work together. I typically put the wife on speaker phone or bluetooth, turn on the wifi, connect to the network, look up directions for her via google maps, and continue the call. I have not had a loss of 3g while I am on wifi also, because I typically am at home or starbucks, some place where I am static and not swithcing cell towers.

    If your wifi is off, during calls does your 3g go in and out?
     
  3. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88

    Do this for me if you can, with your wifi on, go to settings, status, about phone, and tell me what "mobile network state" says.

    When my wifi is off, my 3g signal goes all over the place, i'll have 4 bars, drop to 1, then back up to 4, all over the place.
     
  4. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    <a href=http://s582.photobucket.com/albums/ss265/fynxsyndct/?action=view&current=snap20101015_074925.png target=_blank><img src=http://i582.photobucket.com/albums/ss265/fynxsyndct/snap20101015_074925.png border=0 alt=For your consideration></a>
     
  5. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88
    The pics that show up don't have wifi on.
     
  6. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    its on, just not connected. no wifi where I am at now.
     
  7. honeymic

    honeymic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So are we saying that it is normal to NOT have 3G while using wifi. I'm connected to Wifi right now and mobile network state = "Disconnected"....
     
  8. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88
    That is how it always has been for me, until today. Nothing has changed on my side so I'm gonna chalk it up to another wonderful glitch on my Fascinate.
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Typically, when you connect to Wifi your 3G connection goes into hibernation until you disconnect from Wifi. You are still able to make calls and send text while on Wifi because that doesn't use 3G. If your phone is trying to stay connected to Wifi and 3G at the same time then it is really just burning through your battery faster as it is trying to use two networks at once.

    Unfortunately the Fascinate does not offer the option to turn off the mobile network itself, which has always been a great way to save battery life.
     
  10. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    88
    Yeah I know thats how it is supposed to be, but i was freaking out today because it had the icons for both up at the top.
     
  11. b00t

    b00t New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Actually, correct me if I'm wrong, but can't you just turn on airplane mode to do this?

    My fascinate does seem to correctly switch between 3G and Wifi whenever I tell it to. It also can still use Wifi when I turn on airplane mode, which completely blocks all mobile network (including 3G) services.
     
  12. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I have wi fi on I also see my 3g network go in and out like they are working together. Is this suppose to happen? Is there a benefit? I also assume this would burn through your battery quicker. Right now I have my phone in airplane mode with wi fi on like b00t suggested to see if it conserves more battery life.
     
  13. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    31

    That would not be the same thing. I upgraded from a Droid Eris and enjoyed the fact that you could turn of your mobile network without disabling the cellular radio. HTC's sense has a nice toggle switch for it. Airplane mode disables everything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...