Already fried 2 memory cards!!!!


Last Updated:

  1. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yet another thing that's upsetting me about this phone. I bought the phone the day it was released. About 2 weeks after I'd had the phone, the I got an error saying the sd card was damaged. My computer wouldn't read it either. I'd been doing alot of resets and figured that might have been the problem. Needless to say, I lost all my photos taken in the 2 weeks and the music I had synced, irritating.

    Replace it with an identical 8gb Sandisk Class 2 card. It's been working fine until today. I noticed that the album artwork stopped showing up on the music player and nothing I could do would get all of them to show. It was also bogging down, so I figured I'd power it off and back on. So now that it's been restarted, I'm showing another damaged card and my computer won't read it either. What gives? The phone doesn't really operate unless there's a memory card installed and what's the point of having a phone that loses all it's card data every month?

    I'm on the new firmware and the phone is not rooted. Sandisk is supposed to be top quality when it comes to flash cards. My wife has the pixi and I've felt that I have the better phone.... up until today. At least her phone doesn't delete all her photos, videos, music and anything else she's saved on there every month.

    Has anyone else had any issues? My co-worker with has a G1 and he's only on his 2nd memory card. (although the first one had the same problem with it getting damaged somehow)

    My WM and Palm phones have never had any problems with damaging cards. Arghh.
     

    Advertisement
  2. zombdroid

    zombdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    96
    That sucks! I have never heard of an SD card of any type just getting fried. You might want to exchange your phone.

    I have a 4GB Kingston that I had in my Verizon ENV 2, HTC Touch Pro and now have moved to my Hero. Some Cards and Ratings

    I am definately going to backup my card on a regular basis. Good luck getting that figured out.
     
  3. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did a google search of "sd card damage android" and there are quite a few hits that come up. It seems the way the card interacts with the hardware is quite temperamental. One minor issue and you entire card might be toast. Here's what I did to recover what I could:

    Tried a card reader on my PC... no luck.
    Tried mounting the card through the phone to the PC with a USB cable... no luck.
    Tried reading the card through my Canon digital camera... success (but now it shows the card is empty. no, I didn't format the card via the phone, PC, or camera)
    Tried the card reader again on my PC... success (but still showing blank)
    Tried mounting the card through phone again... still showing damaged
    Ran a recover app on my PC called "Recuva" with the card in the card reader
    The program pulled up all the files on the card, but many off the file names had been altered, but at least I was still able to save the photos from my card before I reformatted and put the card back in my phone.

    So now I've got the same card that crashed back in my phone and it seems to be working now. In the future, I'll just have to think twice, or maybe even 3 to 4 times before I do anything that involves accessing the SD card. What a pain in the butt.
     
  4. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Post removed.]
     
  5. ER6BEN

    ER6BEN Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    I could not help but notice that you have been burning thru Sd cards..That is kinda odd.What I think it is, is that they have both been class two...go spring the extra few bucks for a class six and se how that goes for you. I have a 4 gb class six Trancsend that was only like 18 bucks at radio shack and I have really put it through the paces...flashing roms or themes fro it once a day sometimes. I could be wrong but I would go that road efore the lame and long process of warranty
     
  6. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Try A-Data or Transcend (I personally prefer Transcend), I've always had better luck with those brands versus ScamDisk. Look for them cheap on newegg.com
     
  7. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks kennyidaho and ER6BEN. I'll look at trying different brands. I was sticking with class 2 because supposedly the Hero only reads/writes at class 2 speeds?
     
  8. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4

    loser
     
    Covert_Death likes this.
  9. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use class 6 because it's highly probably through out the day the card will be removed and used in a laptop or some other device. In the end it's really all up to you and how you plan on using the card.

    American Hero does have a good point about static electricity. Do you work or live in an environment that may cause SE build up?
     
  10. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Valid point... perhaps. Pointless post... most definitely.

    I don't know of any quick and dirty method of testing this out whether I work or live in a high static area. What I do know is that I've worked for the same company and lived in my home for quite some time. Here's the list of my past "smart" phones: Mogul, Treo 650, Treo 600, and Samsung i500. Each of those I used for at least 2.5 years each with the cards being taken in and out repeatedly and the phones being softreset on a daily/weekly basis. Never had a single issue with any of the memory cards. On top of that, here's a list of the devices that I use or have used with flash memory cards: portable gps (harmon kardon & garmin), digital cameras (canon, minolta, casio, pentax), digital camcorders (canon, jvc). None of these units nor the cards I've used with them have ever had any issues. I've used Sandisk, Kingston, PNY, and Transcend.
     
  11. aznsmith

    aznsmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    this same thing happened to my stock 2gb card
     
  12. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    2nd card stopped working again. I guess users of this phone can't stream music from SD card to stereo BT headphones and browse the internet using the dolphin browser which caches files onto the SD card simultaneously for any extended period of time.

    Both cards gave errors after these basic tasks for extended time.
     
  13. Ukyo

    Ukyo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    God forbid this happens to me but I've came from a Vzw Storm 1 and I just basically used that 8gb Sandisk on my Hero which is now rooted and have not had any issues... could be a bad sd reader batch the Hero has...
     
  14. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best place to get them for sure... Plus their return policy is pretty good if you get a DOA.

    These MICRO cards are very finicky... I think the higher class speeds are more fragile as well. I lost data 2x on my class 6 (once in another phone and once on my laptop while mounted there) and subsequently now I make sure I back it up frequently because all the data recovery programs work only so well. Small static discharge, removal and insertion, dropping them, etc. Also, maybe it's just from the old magnetic media days, but I always format the media in the drive or device in which it is to be used. Sometimes, the media can not be read when formatted somewhere else.
    I would go with class 6, but other then speed there is nothing wrong with down shifting to class 2, lol.

    Hope it all works out.

    Regards
    :cool:
     
  15. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thankfully I have never had an flash device fail on me (one broke when in my wallet). However as the size of my storage mediums increase the more I worry. The 1TB drive on my desk gives me ulcers lol.
     
  16. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I realized very early on that the 2gb card was not going to fit my needs so I used a bunch of my rewardzone points and got an 8gb card at BestBuy. Since then i've rooted, used recovery rom, made 10 or so Nandroid backups, picture downloads and have 3.5gb of music I stream to my bluetooth earpiece.

    If you keep frying cards, something is wrong with your micro sd card port in my opinion.
     
  17. PGR

    PGR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm a lot more inclined to believe that this issue is the result of a broken or poorly-written application and that "corrupted" is a lot more accurate explanation of what's happening to the card than "fried."

    Pete
     
  18. Thorin10

    Thorin10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone with a corrupt sd card running Astro File manager? I've had my hero for about a month now with no problems with my sd card. yesterday installed Astro and now this morning my card is corrupted.

    I'm not sayin'...just askin'... :)
     
  19. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Running Astro file mgr since I got the phone, 8 gig transend class 6 card and knock on wood, no problems as of this reply.
     
  20. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    I've used Astro for 2 months with the stock 2gb card and have not had a problem. My wife uses it on her Moment as well and likewise, no issues with it.
     
  21. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Happened again with another brand new card. I hate this phone.
     
  22. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can get an iPhone, don't have to worry about upgradable memory there.
     
  23. vwvapor

    vwvapor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm a big multitasker though and my company uses Sprint also. Never been a fan of the iPhone. Love Android, hate my hero. Past my 30 days to switch to moment without paying the full amount. I don't even like the bulk or the sliding keyboard, but it has to be better than losing all the data on my card once a month.
     
  24. zombdroid

    zombdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    96
    Since this is not happening to everyone else and this is what, your third card blown? You obviously have some other issue. Have you replaced the phone yet or a different brand of card? It is still under warranty, right? Take it to a Sprint owned store and see what the tech(s) say.
     
  25. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's 3 cards in as many months?

    The chances you got 3 bad cards is fairly slim, somewhere on the order of ~ 3%

    I'd say it's pretty likely you've got a phone with a faulty SD controller - if you plan on sticking with your Hero i'd get it exchanged.

    I've got a 16gb class 6 ADATA card in mine, and it's been pushed, pulled, reformated, repartitioned, copied, deleted, cached on, swapped on, sat on, washed in my pocket, and dropped in a glass of water once. When it's dry, it never skips a beat.

    SD Flash, even the micro variety, is a pretty hearty storage medium - outside of physical card damage (think: bending it / snapping it in half) you shouldn't see these kind of failure rates. It could just be bad luck, but I'd hedge my bets and exchange the phone instead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...