Any way for ringtones not to appear on the music application?Support


Last Updated:

  1. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    Is there a a way for my ringtones/alarm tones not to display on the default music application ??
     

    Advertisement
  2. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    Put a file in their folder called .nomedia - make a text file in Windows with notepad and save it as all files, naming it .nomedia
     
    hippo_potamus, dc2447 and EarlZ like this.
  3. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Or you can just create the file in your android phone.
     
  4. ardyer

    ardyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    35
    I tried the ".nomedia" option, but then they quit appearing in my ringtones list as well.
     
  5. goughy

    goughy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, I had the same thing happen to me. If you do a search on 'nomedia' there is a thread which lists a program you can download where you can set folders that don't get searched by the music application. It's also worked for some, but again for me the mp3's I used for ringtones dissapeared.
     
  6. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah this is the problem I have now, I cant use my ringtones anymore.. ill give nomedia a search and see if i can find the application..

    EDIT:

    Was not able to find it, anyone who has a solution about this ?
     
  7. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    OK, another approach - if you create the following directory "/sdcard/media/audio/ringtones" and place the files there does it work the way you want?

    EDIT: Nevermind, that doesn't work either.

    EDIT EDIT: I see that in Astro you can directly assign a file to be the ringtone, perhaps doing that for a file in a .nomedia'd folder will work?
     
  8. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'll give that a try.. It pains me knowing that andriod is such a great OS but lacks the basic ringtone and profile options LOL!
     
  9. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    I know, there are definitely a few everyday activities that are needlessly painful in Android...
     
  10. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    I see that astro can only assign it as a call tone, not an SMS tone =(

    God this is so frustrating..
     
  11. goughy

    goughy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    I ended up getting mixzing for my music/video player and set the folders to look for music in.
     
  12. ralphitz

    ralphitz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here. All the ringtones/smstones/notificationtones show up in the MP3-app; With .nomedia in those folders, they're unable to be selected AS ringtones/smstones/etc. So that .nomedia-option is really useless....
    Is there a solution figured out after all?? Maybe?
     

Share This Page

Loading...