App for full backup and restore of Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think that says it all. Is there an app that will backup my entire captivate and restore it exactly the way it was from the backup? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    75
    MyBackup
     
    Simba501 likes this.
  3. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay that's pretty much what I figured. Thanks.
     
  4. John I

    John I Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    31

    Does the phone have to be rooted?

    John
     
  5. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    i would root and use rom manager but thats just me, its free. mybackup doesnt require root i dont think
     
  6. yahoowizard

    yahoowizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    11
    Titanium Backup
     
  7. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
  8. Andrewdroid

    Andrewdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Remember also to backup whetever you have on the Internal and External SD card (and also your sim card if you need it). None of the backup programs will back those up, not even the advanced Nandroid option. Things like a GSM reset (which some people use to fix some issues) WILL erase the internal SD card, so you should have a backup of it.

    It's simple to back these areas up since you can easily mount to phone via USB and do a drag and drop backup in Windows.
     
  9. Andrewdroid

    Andrewdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Please update the backup faq actually regarding this because I'd be willing to bet a lot people don't realize the backup programs don't touch either the internal SD card nor the external sd card.
     
  10. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    No, but...

    If a user has a phone rooted, MyBackup Pro can access much
    more information including third party applications
    data\settings, protected applications, Android Market links, and
    system application data...as well as have the ability to backup
    and restore applications in batch mode with a single click.


    Source: MyBackup Pro documentation
     
  11. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Remember: like the front page of the site states, suggestions go to admin AT capfaq DOT com
     
  12. nyydynasty

    nyydynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    171
    i just like the fact that you can schedule "mybackup" to run daily or weekly and keep a certain number of previous backups.
     
  13. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    As you can with the paid version of Titanium. The main difference that I've noticed is that MyBackup Pro takes significantly longer to perform its operations. I own, and use, both.

    For those reading this thread, I'll reiterate that it is important to back up to an external SD card if it's installed. Why? In the event that you need to exchange your phone you will now have a portable backup, enabling convenient restoration to your new device. MyBackup Pro has an option to do this via a simple check mark. Titanium requires that you modify the path for the backup folder name. For the Captivate's current OS (Eclair) the folder name should be sd/TitaniumBackup. For Froyo, it'll be external_sd/TitaniumBackup.
     
  14. nyydynasty

    nyydynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    171
    but i dont root my phones anymore so titanium is not going to work. I find that mybackup pro doesnt take NEARLY as long as titanium did (when my phone was rooted, of course). And the restore of titanium was painfully slow but maybe it was my phone that was fuxored. who knows.

    either way, mybackup pro works well for me and only takes about 2 minutes to backup automatically (daily).
     
  15. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    And that's good - as long as you're aware of the limitations of backup programs when used with devices that arent rooted.
     
  16. nyydynasty

    nyydynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    171
    yup I do :)
     
  17. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Minor hijack. I'll take note of the Yankees dynasty if you take note of the Brooklyn Bridge.
     

Share This Page

Loading...