1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

[App] [Support] Titanium Backup


Last Updated:

  1. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    This sounds like a recovery or device issue rather than a titanium backup issue. I'd look in the forum specific for your device.
     

    Advertisement
    scary alien likes this.
  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    If it is in recovery. Use the home button to select if you have one
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18,077
    Likes Received:
    11,054
    Press power to select is what you do in the bootloader menu of a HTC though.

    Bobby, can you describe exactly what you are doing, what phone you have and what app or environment you are in?
     
    funkylogik and scary alien like this.
  4. bobbyy1990

    bobbyy1990 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hadron,

    I was using the touch CWM, but used the non-touch instead and it worked. Thanks though!
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. Challenged_101

    Challenged_101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need a little clarification please.

    In the guide, Petrah specifically states, " Never ever backup or restore system data ". I just reviewed the HowToGeek guide in which Back Up All User Apps and System Data is selected. Looking at other guides just confuses the issue.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,937
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    The HowToGeek guide is wrong.

    In the majority of cases, backing up System data from one ROM and restoring on another will cause a boat load of problems.

    If you just use User Apps and their associated data, you'll be fine. :)
     
    Hadron likes this.
  7. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18,077
    Likes Received:
    11,054
    Restore system data is fine if restoring to the same ROM. But as El Pres says, the results of restoring it to a different ROM are unpredictable but not good.
     
    El Presidente and scary alien like this.
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,907
    Likes Received:
    22,619
    "...unpredictable but not good." = force closes and boot loops.

    :)
     
    Hadron and El Presidente like this.
  9. ut_icedragon

    ut_icedragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    I just rooted my phone and installed Ti backup last night.

    I've been playing around with the backup and freezeing the annoying verizon bloat and then came across your guide.

    MY purpose of using Ti backup was to backup my apps and settings to either dropbox or externalSD.

    I did a backup of app + system but then I saw your guide about never backup system data. and now I'm kinda scared. Why is this a bad thing?

    What I noticed is that my backup file is about 1 GB in size and I can;t upload it to DB without a network failure.

    So, what can I do to do this properly. I've already frozen some apps and made a backup of everything (including frozen apps).
     
  10. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Usually people use Titanium to make it easy to restore their apps after flashing a new ROM. Different ROMs can have different styles of system data and that can cause problems on the restore.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  11. ut_icedragon

    ut_icedragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    So, in that case, should I delete all the backups and then back up only apps? I want to also backup stuff like messages and contacts but those are system data?
     
  12. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    3,728
    I'm not sure about tibu backing up contacts and such, my backup can back those up.

    However if you've got your contacts on Google servers, there isn't any need to back those up since once you sign into Google on your device they will sync back to your device.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rerware.android.MyBackup
     
    scary alien and bberryhill0 like this.
  13. Brentiful

    Brentiful New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Newb here, hoping this thread is still active. I've just completed my first root/ROM installation and I'm quite proud of myself for making it through relatively unscathed. Before flashing Cyanogenmod (using their websites interactive hold-your-hand process), I rooted, purchased the Pro version of TiBu, and then ran a backup of "All user apps + system data". When this completed, I copied this folder from my phone to my PC. Then I made a Clockworkmod backup (I believe this is called a "Nandroid") and copied this to my PC as well.

    Now that I'm running a fresh install of a CM, I want to restore my App data. So I transferred the previously-made backup folder back to my phone, but I can't seem to import the data into TiBu. All I can think to do is go to Menu > IMPORT/EXPORT > Import backup (.TiBkp). Doing this, I'm able to direct the File Manager to the correct backup folder on my phone (and all the files appear to be in there), but I don't have a .TiBkp file, so I can't proceed.

    I'm hoping this isn't an error due the the initial backup process itself. Can anyone give me some info on how to proceed?

    In case it's pertinent: AT&T Galaxy SIII (SGH-I747) with Cyanogenmod 11.0 and Android 4.4.2. Also, I'm running Windows 8.1 on my PC.

    Thanks.
     
  14. Brian706

    Brian706 Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    8,011
    What's interesting is that doing a factory reset and flashing a new rom shouldn't wipe your internal storage. For example, I don't copy my backups to the pc, and after I flash a new rom, once I install titanium backup, my backups are still there untouched.


    Out of curiosity, did you wipe everything? A factory reset will leave all your photos, etc on the storage and should be all you need to do as far as wiping. (wipe data/factory reset) Don't wipe sd card or internal storage.


    Open titanium, hit menu in the upper right, hit preferences, then scroll down to backup folder location. Make sure that's pointing to the correct location for your backups.

    If that's not the problem, let us know and we can find some other things to look at.
     
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    Yeah a factory reset done in clockworkmod doesnt wipe your files like titanium so theres no need to move it to a pc :thumbup:
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,089
    Likes Received:
    8,556
    Right. You could move a COPY to the PC to be extra super safe just in case the internal storage on the phone was inadvertantly compromised. You did use the word copied in your post so if that's truly the case, then your original should still be on the phone. No import/export needed. Instead, you should be able to use the batch restore option.
     
    Brian706, Brentiful and scary alien like this.
  17. Brentiful

    Brentiful New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3

    I'm guessing that I didn't explain myself properly (still learning the lingo 'round here), as what you're saying and others are confirming, contradicts the information that I understood going into the flash and what seems to have actually played out. The two main guides I followed--one on Lifehacker (How to Flash a ROM to Your Android Phone) and the other from Cyanogenmod's Auto-installer tool's documentation--both stress to backup your data because it will be overwritten. This is also what ended up happening... Nothing remained of my previous data. Again, probably my fault for not totally understanding what actually happened on my phone throughout the process.


    Turns out this was the problem! Once I redirected the location of the backup folder, TiBu automatically found and loaded up all of my pre-flash app backups. Then, I ran into another problem, which after a bit of frustration I ended up solving... What was happening was that I was trying to do a batch restore, and TiBu would get through maybe 3 or 4% and then freeze. It turned out the problem was my Superuser, uh, app(?). It had to be updated. This was accomplished by going to the Play store, locating the Superuser app (the # sign one) and downloading the .zip file located in a link in the description. I then transferred this to my phone, rebooted into Clockwordmod's recovery mode and installed the .zip file from there. When I rebooted and ran TiBu again, everything ran smooth as butter!

    So yeah, now its just a matter of getting all my preferences set up properly and personalizing my new phone to my liking.

    Before I log off, I just want to say THANKS!! to all of you who have provided prompt and helpful answers, and throw out another random little question while I have the ears of people who seem to know what they're talking about: Tethering is one of the main reasons I rooted and ROM'ed. In CM's settings menu there's an option for USB Tethering and Bluetooth Tethering. I know its off topic, but can someone provide me with a quick explanation for when and why to use either of these options?
     
    funkylogik and scary alien like this.
  18. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    USB is faster than Bluetooth, bluetooth is wireless. Dont you also have the Wifi tethering option?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  19. Brentiful

    Brentiful New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, which I'm pretty sure I understand. I'm mostly just asking about bluetooth/USB because I'm less familiar with their particular applications/uses. As in, why/when would I use bluetooth as opposed to Wifi? HOW does usb tethering work? I'm assuming that it allows one to share their phone's internet connection with devices that can be connected via usb cable. But when I connect my Galaxy s3 to my computer, I see no way to actually utilize my phone's internet connection.

    Also, quick question: my phone went from about 50% to dead in the matter of 3 or so hours last night, with the screen off and in my back pocket. I was thinking that maybe this had to do with an issue with the ROM, but then I noticed that I had accidentally left "Bluetooth tethering" enabled yesterday. Would this be a likely culprit for the terrible battery performance?
     
  20. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Time to start your own thread...
     
  21. Brentiful

    Brentiful New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Truth. Sorry about that...
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  22. biggoog

    biggoog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    13
    Im rooted with TiBu paid version. I have th GALAXY S5 rooted, and I read your tutorial and I was wondering if it was possible to change backup folder to my extsdcard.
     
  23. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Settings> preferences> backup location then hit the back key.
     
    scary alien and biggoog like this.
  24. biggoog

    biggoog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    13
    Tried that didn't work..
    I got this app from a Youtube video.
    NextApp SDfix working now.
    How to make External SD card writable in Android
     
  25. BWB8771

    BWB8771 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just recently, I am unable to upload to Dropbox. Fails almost as soon as it attempts to start. Doesn't make a difference which network I'm on (cell, wifi-home, wifi-work, wifi-GoogleStarbucks, etc)

    Edit: it was a known-issue with TiBU and was fixed days after I'd asked.
     

Share This Page

Loading...