• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Baseband question on froyo

biggdogg

Dec 28, 2009
New Jersey
I'm currently using BBv.4 on my rooted Droid1 and I am still using the old baseband that came on the original stock ota 2.1 update1. I am always looking for ways to get more battery life out of my phone and that got me thinking. Technically I'm new to the whole smartphone scene and didn't get the whole hype about it :(until I got my Droid back in Dec. And since then have spent many hours learning about linux and researching the Android OS. Eventually I'm going to get into application development and coding. Everything I know is from research and trial and error on my Droid. The question I have is concerning the possible link between decreased battery life and the new baseband that is being pushed with the official Froyo ota update. I have not updated to an official 2.2 version so I can't compare the battery life between the two myself so I'm wodering if any of the more knowledgable members of the forum ( you know who you guys are, lol) can help me out with this. The reason it is eating at me is because on Petes website there is a post on the forum about updating the baseband to the current version being used by Verizon instead of the one that was out in june with the same number. In the post it states the binary code is slightly different in the newer version. Could it be that something in the new version is effecting the battery life? Also, what is the downside of not updating my baseband if everything seems to be working properly. Sorry for such a long post but my mind is hungry for knowledge. Thanks in advance!