• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Best Task Killer App/Battery Saving Tips

Hey guys, I'm sure this question/thread has been posed a million times, but I am pretty new to Android & am looking for an up-to-date answer, as I know it doesn't take long for apps etc to become "old".

So, what is the best task killer type app? I am having REALLY bad battery life on my Android, so I really need one.

Any other tips on saving battery would be much appreciated. My battery was 100% charged before going to sleep, & when I woke up, the battery was half drained. Is this normal? Should I turn it off over night?

Thanks in advance for any tips :)

1. Do not use a task killer. Useless on Android and it does more harm than good.
2. Lower the screen brightness and timeout
3. Use WiFi whenever possible
4. Widgets use resources so pick the ones you really need
5. Uninstall rogue apps that drain battery

Advanced Options:
1. Root and flash a ROM. I noticed a huge battery gain when I left stock.

Reactions: ProfessorChaos
Upvote 0
The brightness is personal preference but it definitely helps having it lower than normal. I have mine turned all the way down, easy on the eyes.

And Juice Defender just depends. Sometimes it does good or in my case, as well as others, it makes battery worse. Do trial and error. Use it for a day and see what happens and then try without it.

Yea the widget should be fine. You can also change the refresh interval as well.

What kind of phone do you have? I charge mine through the night when I am asleep and then it goes back on that night at home, but I could last almost a day.

Upvote 0
I have a HTC Desire, running Android 2.2.

I thought the battery was draining so fast because it's new & I was always messing with the settings etc, but the last couple of days I've had low/average usage & I still have to charge it twice per day.