• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Cannot Add Custom Ringtones to Razr

CraneWing

Lurker
Nov 18, 2012
I am a total newbie to Android, having been a Mac user for six years and an iPhone for four. I got so frustrated with iTunes and iPhone, that now I'm in the Android camp, having gotten this Droid Razr HD. So with my dilemmas, please bear with me.

The problem is, I have Googled and tried to add custom ringtones to my phone. It is running Ice Cream Sandwich. I have this Droid File Transfer application that I put on my computer, which allows me to see the Razr's internal storage AND the 32GB micro SD card.

Various tutorials indicated that I should create either a ringtones or media/audio/ringtones directory on my SD card, then add some previous custom ringtones I had used in the past. The tutorials also suggested that the ringtones be mp3 and not m4r.

So I tried both directories as previously listed (ringtones and media/audio/ringtones). I tried both mp3 and m4r, and not matter what I try, the ringtones will not show up under Settings > Sound > Phone ringtone, just the stock Android tones.

My questions:

1. Under ICS, what is the correct folder format on SD card: ringtones or media/audio/ringtones?

2. What is the correct file extension for custom ringtones on Android?

3. How do I get them to show up under phone ringtone under Settings > Sound?

4. What setting should I use when I connect my phone to my computer with the USB cable?

5. And finally, why don't I see anywhere a way to eject my phone when done?

If it is also relevant, I have MacBook Pro running 10.7.5 Lion.

You should be able to drop any compatible audio files (.mp3, .ogg, etc.) into the /ringtones folder.