Can't get tether back


Last Updated:

  1. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I was using wireless tether with bugless beast 7.4 fine but when I went to 7.9 I lost it and can't get it back. I'm using 2.1 Bugless Beast V0.4 and still can't get it to work. I have tried sholes roms too after 7.4 and no dice. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    In later roms the app was not included.

    I'm somewhat confused by your post, whether you don't have the app or if you can't get it to work.

    In any case, here is where you can get the tether app:
    Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    If that's not the problem, please describe the issue you're experiencing with some more detail so we can help!
     
  3. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    Sorry about that. I should have been more specific. I have the wireless tether app but it has stopped working for me. It worked on previous bugless beast roms until I switched to 7.9 and thats when it stopped working. I am on 2.1 bugless beast V0.4 now and still no tether. When I start wireless tether my wifi icon disappears and it shows 3g icon and no tether. When I stop tether the wifi icon reappears. :confused:
     
  4. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    The stock wifi icon, right? Meaning that your wifi is turned on? Or do you mean the green icon for wifi tether?

    Try turning the wifi off, then start the tethering app.

    The tethering app takes care of the wifi state for you. If you connect your droid to the internet through wifi, or if you just have it on for some reason, it will help if you turn it off before you start the tethering app.

    When you run wifi tether, you should see the 3g symbol.

    Hope this helps, lemme know
     
  5. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I was turning on the the wifi (stock icon). I tried what you said not cutting on the wifi and starting tether and still a no go. My Mac sees it as a network but when I join it says webpage cannot be displayed and wifi tether show no activity going in or out. Its not a huge deal but I would like it to work. I'm sure its something I might be doing but I don't know what it could be. Like I stated earlier, I had it working on previous BB roms before I upgrade to 7.9
     
  6. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    It seems to be working then.. right?. I mean you can see the ssid broadcast on your MAC. I would think that maybe it's an adjustment to the network settings in wifi tether app itself that's not allowing traffic.
     
  7. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hmm. Sounds similar to when I first installed it.

    If anything, I would rename the SSID, change the channel, and make sure the power setting is on active.

    You may also try a reboot, making sure that wifi is turned off, and try it again.

    Can't really help you on the mac side of things unfortunately.
     
  8. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I tried all of this and still nothing. I don't think its a Mac problem. I was able to use my Mac with it before. It shows thats its joined the network but nothing. Also tether also notifies you when someone is connected but it doesn't when I connect. I also tried it with my Ipod and nothing. I can live without it but would like to get it to work. Thanks for all the help guys.
     
  9. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    Your not going to believe this. It started working then I decided to stop tethering and then restart it to see if it would work again and now it doesn't! I give up! :mad:
     
  10. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Try un-installing the version you have... remove the start and stop entries in SU... reboot the phone... then download and install this one wireless_tether_2_0-pre6.apk . It's the most recent tether apk from the google tether project.

    I re-installed using this version ...set the SU when it asked.... setup the LAN settings... and walla... good to go. If for some reason it doesnt catch on the first try change the network setting to another class... e.g. a 10.10... network... you know what I mean... and give it a go.
     
  11. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I tried it and it just doesn't work. Thanks for the help though. I give up.:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...