• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [CDMA] Rooting

adamc5739

Jan 23, 2012
Hi, I have an HTC EVO 3d. I'm a newbie to android and I keep hearing about rooting. Can anyone explain to me what rooting is? Should i root? I'm pretty happy with my phone but I would like a new version of android and maybe a better battery. How do you root? Do you take it to a phone store and they "root" it? Do you do it on your own? Is it risky? What does it do? Does it really improve your phone? Sorry for all the questions, and thanks to everyone in advance :D

Hi, I have an HTC EVO 3d. I'm a newbie to android and I keep hearing about rooting. Can anyone explain to me what rooting is? Should i root? I'm pretty happy with my phone but I would like a new version of android and maybe a better battery. How do you root? Do you take it to a phone store and they "root" it? Do you do it on your own? Is it risky? What does it do? Does it really improve your phone? Sorry for all the questions, and thanks to everyone in advance :D

Hello adamc. First of all, let's get your question into the EVO 3D general area (I've just now moved it for you ;)), then let's direct you to the Root Guide sticky in the All Things Root sub-forum:

http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all-things-root/495121-htc-evo-3d-all-things-root-guide.html

That's where you'll find root info for the EVO 3D.

Now let's see what others here have to say about whether to rood the device or not to. ;)

Upvote 0
Hi Adam,

I think Frisco mistakenly moved your thread to the Evo 3D general forum instead of the All Things Root forum. But yes, that guide gives a good listing of what rooting is, how to do it, and some resources to get you started.