Changed Google Apps password, sync now borked on IncredibleSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi all,

    As part of my company's security protocol, I had to change my Google Apps password. In fact, I need to change the password on a weekly basis. No big deal, I assumed I could just go into the Incredible's sync function and change the password there, or open Gmail and be prompted, the market, Talk, or any number of seemingly obvious routes. Boy was I wrong.

    Not only does the sync feature on the Incredible not prompt me to enter my new password, but NONE of Google's own apps prompt me either. They just keep trying to sync, draining my battery from 85% to 60% in 15 minutes. But that's another story.

    I can't delete the Google account either without performing a factory reset, which I'd really rather not do every time I change my apps password. I can't add another Google account either, I get a conflict every time I try to add the account with my new password.

    Nothing changed as far as my company's Google Apps account, the only thing we did change was the Google Apps password. Before I give this phone to "Will It Blend?", does anyone have any suggestions on how to change my Google account password on the Incredible?

    Thank you in advance!
    Mischka
     

    Advertisement
    RichInman likes this.
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    I have done this many times without issue. At Menu > Settings > Accounts & Sync press Google, then "Remove Account". Then add the account back using the new password. Change the password online first (on a computer instead of phone) and verify it's working properly and allowing access.
     
  3. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've done this many times and I get the same message every time: "This account is required by some applications. You can only remove it by resetting the phone to factory defaults..."
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    Wow, you're right I just tried it and hit the same roadblock. Evidently another PIA of 2.2.

    This is just a wild thought but how about using the new Gmail app from the market which allows adding multiple accounts. Once you get into entering the info for the account, try using the "Already have a Google Account?" button and sign in using your NEW password. Just throwing it out there as a maybe.
     
  5. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    Haha, great minds think alike. I already tried that, it works for Gmail but not for contacts or calendar. VZW told me I have no choice but to do a factory restore. My company's not going to change their security procedures for something like this, nor should they have to, so unless I'm able to resolve this w/o having to do a factory reset...anyone wanna buy an Incredible?
     
  6. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    On a sidenote, there has got to be a way to change a password on the Incredible. I mean, it would be completely befuddling for there not to be a way. This would make less sense than the infamous copy-paste debacle on the Gmail app. I'm waiting for the "you're an idiot this is how you do it" reply...please!
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    I even went so far as to try clearing data/cache for all Google applications on my phone and I still didn't get the ability to change anything. Kinda figured if it didn't register the association with other apps, it might then allow it. Nope. It's seemingly a built in function of the "remove account" function as it relates to Google Sync. What sucks is we could do this in 2.1.
     
  8. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    Well VZW support has no fix. Waiting to hear back from Google Apps help.
     
  9. RichInman

    RichInman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running into the same issue. Definitely a gap in user design.
     
  10. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    Still no response from Google :(. I have a feeling it's one of those built-a-mansion-forgot-the-door things.
     
  11. bjr151

    bjr151 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1

    I ran into the same problem as you guys and here is the fix that worked on my Inc.

    1. Go to Settings -> Accounts & Sync -> Your Google Account
    2. Manually uncheck all of the boxes for data and synchronization
    3. Go back one screen to the Accounts & Sync
    4. Uncheck the Auto-sync
    5. Click "Sync all" button at the bottom
    6. While it is trying to sync it will cause an error in your notifications.
    7. Go to your notification screen either by dragging the top bar down or Home Screen -> Menu -> Notifications
    8. Click on the sync error message
    9. A box will pop up with weird looking letters
    10. Enter these CAREFULLY. They are really hard to read and it took me 3 times to finally get the correct combination in. Make sure there are no spaces in between your letters either.
    11. If you do it correctly, a box will appear that will ask you to enter your new password for your Gmail account.
    12. Go back to Settings -> Accounts & Sync and reactivate your auto-sync and your individual syncing within your google account.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    Wow, great job on finding a workaround. First time I've heard of success without a hard reset. Thanks for posting.
     
  13. froelants

    froelants New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed my google account password on pc.
    The i went on my Android 2.2 to the marked. It failed to connect and asked my for my password.
    When I checked the sychronization settings in the system menu every item in the list was green and sychronized.
     

Share This Page

Loading...