• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Photogdave

May 29, 2011
Well I tried to search for this issue, thing is its phone specific and havent seen a thread related to my question.

Im new here and new to smart phone. But ive been able to navigate thru it and other than this stuff called rooting etc, I can get around my phone ok.
Thats over my head big time.

Heres what Im trying to do or would like to do.
In case you dont see it, I use a Verizon Samsung Fascinate.

Im a photographer and would like to group my contacts as such:
I want in the contacts menu to display my normal contacts.
But want to make a group folder named schools.....which Ive done and add all our schools numbers and address in which I shoot via csv or gmail.

But when I do this, it also shows in the contacts tab.
I want to open contacts and under contacts only show friends family etc numbers that have always been there.
But for work....when I need a school, tab across to groups and select school folder and display only schools Ive entered.

That will work but they also show in contacts tab and this makes my contacts list 850 entries long. Kinda tough to find my buddies in there LOL.

Is there a way to do this or am I just SOL on this. I love the phone. Its done all I wanted so far and does it well. I can get a day and half easy on battey. So not the complaints of others there.
Just this one thing and was hoping all the Android(fascinate) vets on here could show me where I just overlooked something.

Thanks ahead for trying to help.

oh, and is there a Mobile version for this forum available so its easier to view on this phone.

I am pretty sure you can select what contacts to show and which ones not to show based on labels in the settings. I havent tried it before, but the rest of the Google interaction is very similar to that, so I would think the contacts can also